: How close have you come to "kicking the bucket"?

MACenstein'sMonster
Aug 11th, 2010, 05:01 AM
I was talking to an acquaintance the other day who told me a story of how they nearly bought the farm earlier this year while vacationing in Australia. He got carried away from shore by a rip current. He said he knew beforehand how to get out of a situation like that but panicked and swam directly against the current rather than across it. Needless to say his futile efforts put him in a heap of trouble. He said he nearly gave up, maybe seconds away from submitting to his apparent demise, and then somebody near him was able to pull him to safety. Just prior to his rescue he had the whole "life flashing before his eyes" experience. I've had some hairy experiences but never have I come that close to cashing in all my chips. You?

BTW, here's an interesting article about rip currents and how dangerous they can be:

HowStuffWorks "How Rip Currents Work" (http://science.howstuffworks.com/environmental/earth/oceanography/rip-current.htm)

adagio
Aug 11th, 2010, 09:05 AM
I nearly bought the farm in Panama. I'm virtually a non swimmer. I was standing in hip deep water when I was sucked out away from shore. I thought I'd surly die but luckily a fellow on a jet ski came to my rescue. The incident left me shaking for days and I still have occasional nightmares about the incident. You can't imagine the sheer power of that water until it happens to you. Your life does flash before your eyes when you think you're a going to die.

Macfury
Aug 11th, 2010, 09:32 AM
Having never been close to locking the bucket, adagio, what is the experience of "life flashing before eyes" like?

Dammacx
Aug 11th, 2010, 09:44 AM