: iTunes Photo Sync with Aperture 3


frnak
Apr 7th, 2010, 08:05 PM
Hi all,

So for some reason, under the photos tab in iTunes, when I try to sync one of my projects from Aperture 3, it shows only 8 out of 233 photos in the actual aperture project beside the project name.

What is going on?

I am using the latest iTunes 9, and the newest version of Aperture 3

wardrip
Apr 10th, 2010, 02:41 PM
i am having the same issue.

wardrip
Apr 10th, 2010, 04:27 PM
ok i figured out how to fix it. close itunes and aperture. open aperture while holding shift, option and command. it will say something i clicked the rebuild database and after it was finished i opened itunes and it worked

frnak
Apr 11th, 2010, 04:58 AM
I tried that, but now my iTunes say that it cannot copy over the photos, because the required files cannot be found.

What does that mean?...

wardrip
Apr 11th, 2010, 05:11 PM
ok now hold option and open aperture and search for you aperture library. its usually in the pictures folder in finder

frnak
Apr 11th, 2010, 05:17 PM
I pressed options, and the default library has been selected. It still wouldn't work in iTunes =(

wardrip
Apr 11th, 2010, 05:19 PM
close itune and reopen it. does itunes give you an option to search for the photos?

frnak
Apr 11th, 2010, 05:21 PM
I have done that, still not results. It doesn't give me an option to search for the photos...Only an error message that reads:

"The iPod "XXXXX" cannot be synced. The required files cannot be found".

I've also noticed that none of my aperture projects can be synced, not just the new ones.

wardrip
Apr 11th, 2010, 05:23 PM
are you using an external drive to store your photos on?

frnak
Apr 11th, 2010, 05:23 PM
Nope, using the default Aperture library in the Pictures folder on my user folder.

wardrip
Apr 11th, 2010, 05:23 PM
i found this on apples discussion page Apple - Support - Discussions - Cannot locate Aperture library after ... (http://discussions.info.apple.com/thread.jspa?messageID=11324956)

wardrip
Apr 11th, 2010, 05:25 PM
hold shift, option, and command and try to repair permissions and repair database.

frnak
Apr 11th, 2010, 05:32 PM
*sigh* no hope. I repaired all 3 options, still shows errors.

wardrip
Apr 11th, 2010, 05:33 PM
im at a lost. that is what worked for me

frnak
Apr 11th, 2010, 05:35 PM
Thanks for all your help, I'll perhaps reinstall Aperture 3 and iTunes later to see if that works.