: Norton Antivirus Questions....


Ali
Oct 3rd, 2002, 05:13 PM
Was wondering if anyone out there had any insight into my antivirus problem. I have to admit I am not the best when it comes to troubleshooting the technical end of things, I am still pretty new at this, so you will have to excuse me if this seems like an easy problem. I am running OS 9.2. While trying to run norton antivirus from the HD to check for viruses the program keeps crashing with a type 1 error. I have tried this a few times with the same results, crash. I have uninstalled and reinstalled the norton system works 2.0 and tried to run it again only to have the same thing happen, crash. When I run antivirus off the CD no virus activity is found. When I run the antivirus off of the CD, will it do the same job as if I ran it off the HD, will it pick up virus activity either way? This may sound like an easy question, but I am still learning... :confused:

CubaMark
Oct 3rd, 2002, 08:38 PM
Hey Ali,

First, here's Norton's support page for Macintosh:

http://www.symantec.com/sabu/nis/nis_mac/supportmenu.html

The question about running it off the CD or HD... the instructions for Norton install, as I recall, advise you to run Norton from the CD first to clean the system, and then install it onto the hard drive once we're sure there are no virii present.

NOTE that the virus definitions that Norton uses on the CD are already out of date. The first thing you should do upon installing Norton on your HD is to download the new virus definitions (via the Norton control panel), reboot, and then re-scan the entire system.

Second, a few general troubleshooting ideas:

1/ in pre-OS X systems (like OS 9), I find it helps to boost the memory allocated to the application that's acting up. Find the program icon (not the shortcut) and select "Get Info" from the file menu (or Command-I). Increase the "preferred" memory allocation. If you have lots of RAM (like more than 128 megs) try giving it another 10,000k.

2/ rebuild your desktop (reboot, and while the extensions are marching across the bottom of your screen, press and hold Command-Option until you get a message asking "Do you want to rebuild the desktop?" Say Yes.).

3/ zap your PRAM (reboot, press and hold Command-Option-P-R, wait for three chimes. yeah, kinda voodoo-ish). The Mac will continue booting up. You will find that some things need to be reset, like your General Controls panel, and a few other things.

Good luck!
M.

Ali
Oct 10th, 2002, 02:47 PM
Thanks CubaMark!
I tried your troubleshooting suggestions, and I am now able to scan without crashing (and I'm virus free, not to mention!!!)
Thanks for your help! smile.gif

PosterBoy
Oct 10th, 2002, 05:41 PM
It is also worth mentioning that after 18 months of being out and in use, thus far there are still no Mac OS X Virii *knocks on wood*.

--PB