: Program for burning slideshows

macdoodle
Aug 23rd, 2009, 09:53 PM
Hello Everyone!
I am a newbie on the Mac and feel as if I have been released from 'slavery' LOL!
However, I am not totally understanding the function of IDVD and am looking for a decent program that will let me burn copies (and add on) for people who have PC.

(a breeder friend of mine wants me to record from birth to the time the puppy goes home with it's new 'parents'... slideshow is best for me but I cannot be there every day or so,
the DVD is a gift to the owners.... )
I digress... I understand IDVD is a one shot only program?? that being said, can I record more than one at a time.... like highlight 4 little shows and record them all on the one disc?

I have been looking into Roxio Toast 10 for Mac and it seems to be a good program, it does not say (as I recollect) the you can add on to a particular disc.... it is a feature I would love above all else and the program is a bit high for me right now.....
any feedback would be helpful, i would hate to spend the $$ to find out it is not the right program for my needs....

Thank you...:)

oh, one more thing..... what is the difference between DVD - R and DVD + R??
the young fellow at Apple told me it didn't matter what it meant... I told him to me it did.... he said he wasn't sure but he thought the -R meant it could run on a PC as well as a Mac....
I would like a little help here too... Thanks! ;)

eMacMan
Aug 23rd, 2009, 10:04 PM
Sorry I can't answer more of your questions. DVD-R is the industry standard and should work on any DVD player or computer. DVD+R supposedly has a superior write/verify method but seems to be hit or miss as to how well it works away from the source computer.

chas_m
Aug 24th, 2009, 12:32 AM
I understand IDVD is a one shot only program?? that being said, can I record more than one at a time.... like highlight 4 little shows and record them all on the one disc?