: Camera Question...

Dreambird
Jul 1st, 2008, 11:42 PM
I've got a Panasonic Lumix DMC-FX-30:

Panasonic Lumix DMC-FX30: Digital Photography Review (http://www.dpreview.com/news/0701/07013104panasonicfx30.asp)

I'm just learning but the camera seems to take very nice pictures... however I'm wondering if the resolution of 72dpi is as high as this one goes? I can't find anywhere to set it higher... I'd like to shoot at 200dpi or more as the shop (linked in my signature) requires that res.

I've been bumping up in PhotoShop for photos. Any artwork I've got done w/o a camera is mostly saved in .tif format at 300dpi.

Here's a sample shot from my camera:

bgw
Jul 2nd, 2008, 10:32 AM
Are you talking about the printing of images, or the saving of images in the camera?

When taking pictures the units aren't dpi, they are mega-pixels and according to the dpreview article (and dpreview is a great site!) your camera takes images at up to 7.2 megapixels. Which is decently high.

I would take a good look at the manual and some of the tutorial information on the dpreview website to sort out what you want to achieve.

Where are you getting this figure of 72 dpi from? By the way, 72 dpi was a standard screen resolution way back when (System 6 Mac for instance), these days screen resolution is typically 96 dpi or higher! Modern colour printers work from about 300 dpi to thousands of dpi.

Macified
Jul 2nd, 2008, 10:38 AM
dpi or ppi isn't really a function of the camera. My camera (Nikon D50) takes 3008 by 2000 pixels images. If I print that image at 4 x 6 I am packing more of those pixels (up to the printers maximum resolution) into a smaller space than I would on an 8 x 10 print or a 13 x 19. Computer only display roughly 72 dpi which is why even crappy jpegs look okay on screen but don't print well.

I haven't read it yet but here's a site about dpi and digital cameras...

Digital Cameras and Genealogy - The Myth of DPI (http://www.rideau-info.com/genealogy/digital/dpi.html)