: Motherboard Question?

Isight
May 8th, 2008, 08:41 PM
I did not know where to ask this so hear it is. I do not know if anyone will know this but here we go. I want to build a computer have for a long time now. I have a chance to get an ABIT BP6 motherboard (dual socket motherboard), 2 500MHz Celeron processors, 256 mb of ram, graphics card and, an ethernet card. This is stuff from 2000 and will only cost me $35. Dose anyone have any experience with these products and what not. I would want to maybe see if I could make a low end hackintosh, or build a media server. Any comments?

Thanks.

chas_m
May 8th, 2008, 09:55 PM
Disclaimer: I'm not an expert at this, but that doesn't stop me having an opinion. :)

The parts, as you've said, are circa 2000 -- before media servers, and not the class of chips needed for a Hackintosh (I think Core Duo is the bare minimum, but others will likely correct me).

What I think you've got there is everything you need to build a complete piece of crap. A very basic computer that might be able to surf the net and do other basic tasks, but will barely be able to run XP (lots more RAM might help) and might be able to be a functional print/file server (media server, no I don't think so), but would never be a serious contender for main machine.

Still, we're talking about $35 and the fun of building (if you find that sort of thing fun, I don't). IMHO I think it's ultimately going to gather dust in the corner, but it's your own time and experience and that's an awfully cheap "point of entry." If you have nothing better to do, slap it together and throw Ubuntu on it. That ought to be more fun.

shikotee
May 9th, 2008, 01:36 AM
:confused: What's a motherboard??? :confused:

Perhaps what you meant is :rolleyes: logicboard :rolleyes: ???

I say potato, you say....

mguertin
May 9th, 2008, 01:44 AM