: Shut down?

Buckette
Apr 26th, 2008, 10:25 PM
I've owned my macbook for about a year. I was just playing some flash games when it shut down on me for no reason. It's never done anything like that. I turned it on again and it was fine for about twenty minutes, then it shut down AGAIN. So far it hasn't done it a third time...any ideas why this is happening? What I can check out?

Thanks.

Oh and I'm basically a computer noob, so if you use big words please tell me what they mean. :)

Sitting Bull
Apr 26th, 2008, 10:29 PM
Welcome aboard,
Sorry I cant help you. I as well am a newbie, but I like to think I am part of the welcoming party.
I am sure someone will be by to help you out.
S.B.

Buckette
Apr 26th, 2008, 10:37 PM
Oh okay, thanks anyway S.B. So far so good, it hasn't shut down again! :D

Could it have something to do with me being on Safari before and now I'm using Firefox?

johnb1
Apr 26th, 2008, 10:40 PM
oh, man, that's gotta be annoying...
I don't know what model of macbook you have, so I can't give you much advice
run software update...oh, and maybe run disk Utility and repair permissions. MacJanitor and Hazel are helpful too....
\
hope this does something good

John B

Buckette
Apr 26th, 2008, 10:46 PM
Mac OS X
Ver. 10.4.11

What's disk Utility and repair permissions?

What do MacJanitor and Hazel do?

Thanks johnb1 :D

monokitty
Apr 26th, 2008, 11:06 PM
I hope you have warranty - the only randomly shutting down MacBooks I've ever encountered had defective logic boards.

Buckette
Apr 26th, 2008, 11:38 PM
Is it normal that the logic board would start acting up a year after I've owned the lap top though?

eMacMan
Apr 26th, 2008, 11:45 PM
Is it normal that the logic board would start acting up a year after I've owned the lap top though?

Normal? Absolutely not. Possible? Yes!

Since it is a laptop it is quite possible that your battery needed charging. You did not mention whether you were running off of AC or battery.

Buckette
Apr 26th, 2008, 11:51 PM