: Eeek! a hideous hardware problem!

stephaniemac
Mar 3rd, 2008, 04:00 PM
I am a writer based in Vancouver, and I've had a Mac since about 1991 (not the same one of course) and I've never had a horrible problem like this - does anyone know anyone with hardware fixing talents?

I have a new MacBook that I got in September, that died last week (stopped turning on for no reason - there was an "x" in the battery symbol). I took it in to Simply Computing and they told me it had water damage so the warranty is void (absolutely no clue how this could have happened, it's never been near water), and now they say that they can clean it for $160 but that might not fix it and I might need some new logic board or something that costs basically as much as the computer is worth (like, $1000). I don't know what to do! Is there a way to get a used board? Can anyone besides Simply Computing fix a problem like this? I'd much rather give anyone else the money than them, they've been very unhelpful.

I can forward anyone interested the email, they guy there took pictures of the problem. I will be so thankful to anyone who can help me!

monokitty
Mar 3rd, 2008, 04:16 PM
If you're certain you haven't abused the computer (i.e; spilled water on to the unit), then take it elsewhere and have it repaired under warranty. Sounds like the dealer might be pulling a fast one on you. As an Apple technician, you can forward me the photos if you wish (send me a PM).

chas_m
Mar 3rd, 2008, 05:30 PM
I'm completely with Lars on this one. There are an abundance of good Mac dealers in your area. Definitely get a second opinion at a place like Mac Station (http://www.macstation.com/retailstores/).

Gerbill
Mar 3rd, 2008, 06:00 PM
Simply Computing is generally a pretty good place. If they say it's got water damage, I'd tend to believe it. Never hurts to get a second opinion, though.

SoyMac
Mar 3rd, 2008, 08:05 PM