: Do you ever turn your Mac off?

Omes01SLE
Feb 23rd, 2008, 11:04 PM
I'm relatively new to the Mac world (but LOVE it so far) - I purchased a PowerMac G5 and was wondering if I should turn it off after each use or put it in "sleep" mode? I use it about 4/5 days out of 7 on an average week. Is there any harm in turning it off and on, or subsequently is there any harm in leaving in on 24/7?
thx

PosterBoy
Feb 23rd, 2008, 11:15 PM
I have a Windows machine that is basically on 24/7 (it's always doing something for me) and other than one failed HDD (which probably had more to do with bittorrent than anything else) it runs like a top.

Given that is what I expect from a PC I built myself, you should expect better from a shiny new PowerMac.

John Clay
Feb 23rd, 2008, 11:24 PM
I have a Mac mini that I leave on (active, not in sleep mode) 24/7, and that has had no issues. My iMac is either active or sleeping. I only shut down my iMac if I'm going to be away for extended periods of time (more than a week).

Phat Bastard
Feb 23rd, 2008, 11:41 PM
From an environmentalist point of view, I hate people that keep their computers on. Unless you are using them for something or need to maintain network access, turn the things off, you have no idea how much energy you are wasting and therefore how much greenhouse gas emissions you are emitting.

Put your Mac to sleep--it will take less than 5 seconds to wake it up. There's no reason whatsoever for leaving your computer on all the time.

bgw
Feb 23rd, 2008, 11:46 PM
At one time turning off and on computer was hard on the machine; this isn't the case any more.