: Buy a new Intel or used PPC it comes down to software reliability?

mahendra
Dec 25th, 2007, 08:16 PM
I'm a semi-destitute illustrator using a Powerbook G4, OS 10.2.8 using Quark, Photoshop, Distiller, Illustrator, mostly in Classic mode.

Funds are limited but a backup/replacement machine is finally necessary and here's the rub:
Am I better off getting a used PowerPC Mac that can still use my mix of Classic & OS X graphics software, or should I bite the bullet and get a new or refurbished Intel Mac? The ultimate question: is purchasing Intel-compatible software worth the considerable added expense and do the Classic/PowerPC emulators for the Intel really work? Can one reliably run pre-Intel OS X software on the new Macs?

My deciding criteria for all hardware & software is reliabilty and robustness. Speed is great but that's not why I love Macs anyway.

Any comments & suggestions are gratefully welcomed! And oh yes, happy holidays!

Orion
Dec 25th, 2007, 09:19 PM
If the software you want to use has an updated version certified to run on Intel machines it may well be worth the cost. You would be in with the present-day hardware and software and could be reasonably certain of a few (5?) years of functionality without having to upgrade. You could choose to, but you wouldn't *have* to. :)

If you need software that is only available for OS9 or older versions of OSX then save yourself a bundle and go with older PPC machines. Everything I have read about PPC emulation on Intel leaves a great deal to be desired; it's at the level of playing around, not production work.

This is only my opinion of course and I don't do the kind of work you do so... well, hey :)

Edit:
At the very least, if you do choose to go with Intel / OSX 10.5, wait until after MacWorld in January. Nothing like dropping a few grand to find that a week later it could have bought you a much better machine.

mahendra
Dec 25th, 2007, 10:20 PM