: In the market for a Mac book

BMWMac3
Dec 5th, 2007, 12:30 AM
Hello, I have used PC all my life and now I am in the market for a notebook. Obviously Mac has proven to be much better these days then its PC competitors. I have a few question so I hope they can be answered by this community.

1) I am thinking of purchasing the $1249 notebook with 2.0 ghz and 1 gig of ram, however I may need to use windows as well. So my first question is: Should I get 1 gig or 2 gigs of RAM if I choose to utilize the Boot Camp option?

2) I am a business student in university and this notebook is mostly for educational purposes. Now my textbooks come with PC oriented Cd-Roms, such as Business Plan Pro. My second question is: Will these Cd roms runs perfectly while using the windows OS on a mac book. *Added note* most of my textbooks in the future will be from pearson education company and almost all will have cd-roms as aids or programs for the courses I am enrolled in.

3) My notebook purchase will not be for gaming whatsoever, but only for music,movies and TV shows. My third question is: IF i purchase this macbook wil it play Xvid compressed files and Matroska files smoothly?

Since this is my first post I really dont know anybody here. That being said for those that reply I apprecaite you taking the time to read my questions and your incite on all three matters is very much appreciated :D

Cheers!

BMWMac3

Adrian.
Dec 5th, 2007, 12:42 AM
If you only need it for the average consumer needs than 1 gb is perfectly fine. Bootcamp works perfectly fine with all windows apps. minus some enormously demanding games and graphics programmes. I have a macbook and you honestly cannot find a comparable computer for this price...you will pick up wireless signals that high end pc's wont even recognize and the core2duo processing is fantastic. I have the 2.0, c2d 1gb macbook and i have parallels on it, which is not as good as bootcamp and I can use all kinds of windows apps. So you should be fine!