: 20" or 22" LCD Monitor ?

johnnydee
Dec 1st, 2007, 07:30 AM
I need some advice regarding a monitor purchase!
I'm looking at a 20 or 22 " widescreen LCD purchase.
THere are so many models from which to choose and I will be buying online sight unseen. I would like to pay up to $300 for one.
I was wondering what features or specs I should be looking for?
Thanks John
:)

Adrian.
Dec 1st, 2007, 09:52 AM
I just bought a 21.6 Samsung LCD yesterday at futureshop for $269, at 60 dolllars off. I have been doing some serious research for a couple months now, and even at wholesale online retailers I could not find such a good deal. The screen is huge, no glare, excellent resolution and modern looking. Comes with a 3 year parts and labour warranty too!

http://www.futureshop.ca/catalog/proddetail.asp?logon=&langid=EN&sku_id=0665000FS10088900&catid=25074

FeXL
Dec 1st, 2007, 09:55 AM
Last year about this time (Dec 6), Dell had their 12 days of deals on. If you are careful & research what you buy, there are some bargains to be had.

Pelao
Dec 1st, 2007, 10:11 AM
Here's a very recent review of the monitor Adrian purchased. Looks good for the price:

Macworld: Review: Samsung SyncMaster 206BW LCD monitor (http://www.macworld.com/2007/11/reviews/samsung206bw/index.php)

mc3251
Dec 1st, 2007, 10:55 AM
I don't think that the monitor review shown is the same monitor. Adrian bought a 216-this review is for a 206

mc3251
Dec 1st, 2007, 10:59 AM
Like everything, it all comes down to what you intend to use it for. If you need serious color accuracy for high end graphics work then you should look at professional series monitors-not gonna happen in your stated budget.
I have an LG 1951 which is a 19" and it is about a year and a half old. It claims to be 2000:1 CR-I don't frankly believe it. It is, however, a very good monitor, and at the time was one of the lower priced options. I preferred it to Samsung. But a year and a half is a lifetime in this biz, so I'm not sure about today.