: Tiger On Lombard

bmovie
Feb 14th, 2007, 10:25 AM
I have a Lombard 333mzh 384mb ram - 60G hdd

I have os 9.2.2 and Panther on it. Should I bother installing Tiger. I have done it before on an older HDD, just wondering what peoples opinions are.
I like to tinker, and dont' mind headaches as this machine is just for that.

curious what others think

JumboJones
Feb 14th, 2007, 10:57 AM
I've installed it on a Lombard for my brother, I've haven't heard any complaints. Problem was getting it on the hard drive without a DVD drive, I just popped the HD into my firewire case and installed it that way.

bmovie
Feb 14th, 2007, 11:24 AM
Do you think it will be slower than Panther?
I know that Tiger is a more optimized OS and technically should run faster.

Alan Thurman
Oct 8th, 2007, 01:15 PM
I upgraded my RAM and my HD on my old Lombard, but am limited with applications and drivers for it since I am using Mac OS 10.2.8 and I also have Tiger on my other Macs, so it helps for consistency of use to all be the same OS. I really would like to install Tiger on it, but my Lombard does not have a DVD drive & I purchased a Tiger DVD not the CD version. While I have an external USB/Firewire DVD-RW, the Lombard of course does not have Firewire and will not boot from USB. I do not have a SCSI DVD or HD anymore.

If I get a notebook to standard IDE adapter and connect it internally to the same IDE bus that the SuperDrive on my Dual G5 Power Mac is on, will that work and if so, will it install a G5 specific version of the OS that will not work in my Lombard? Also, I know the Lombard is not officially supported for installation from the standard Tiger install DVD, so do I have to create a special Tiger DVD that will not exclude it from installing on my Lombard in this manner as I would if I had a Lombard with a DVD driver (info on how to do this is on the internet) or if since I am installing it from a compatible machine will it once installed boot and work normally on my Lombard?