: Sendmail or PostFix?

Morley
Aug 11th, 2006, 02:13 PM
I'm running a co-located Xserve for running a database service. Now I'd like to migrate my eMail to this machine. However I have zero prior experience with mail service issues and frankly I don't want to divert precious hours to what appears, at first glance, to be a complex arena.

My eMail needs will be light -- managing the sending and receiving of eMails to and from my very small software development company (currently one person). However I can't afford the time and the risk of doing something well intentioned but unwise.

I'm part way through reading a lengthy tutorial on the subject -- a discussion on how to sidestep the complexities of Apple's pre-installed SendMail app and use PostFix instead, and why. (I've found a lot of other URLs to read on this SendMail and PostFix for Macs as well.) http://www.stepwise.com/Articles/Workbench/eart.index.html This site is both re-assuring and also intimidating. Written by Graham Orndorff who has spent most of his adult life on eMail serving issues, particularly Apple related.

Am I being overly cautious? Or, given my rather light needs, something that should be a no-brainer? I'm finding it hard to assess.

By the way, I have no preference for SendMail or PostFix. I just want to be able to send and receive mail relatively efficiently via this Xserve.

I appreciate your comments.

mikef
Aug 11th, 2006, 05:42 PM
I'm part way through reading a lengthy tutorial on the subject -- a discussion on how to sidestep the complexities of Apple's pre-installed SendMail app and use PostFix instead, and why.

I've got Postfix pre-installed on my Tiger machine... are you running something other than Tiger? I don't know the history of the mailer(s) included with OS X, so perhaps older versions had different MTAs.