: Connecting to internet Cable modem and 0s 9.2.1, Am I just dumb ?


J-F Desfossés
Aug 8th, 2006, 09:26 AM
Hi,

I am trying to setup a friend's all in one G3 with 288mb of Ram, OS 9.2.1.

All is well, except that I cannot seem to connect to the internet. My modem (MOTOROLA S85101) shows connection to Power, receive, send online, and PC activity, and works when connected to my dual 500 G4.

Any clue on steps I might have missed ?

Thanks

JF

mguertin
Aug 8th, 2006, 04:27 PM
make sure it's setup to use DHCP, and depending on the ISP you might also need to put in a client id. Also some ISP's limit the MAC address (the NIC's hardware address) so if you've taken it from one computer to the other it may take a while before it lets a new NIC connect.

SkyHook
Aug 8th, 2006, 10:58 PM
>

MacDoc
Aug 8th, 2006, 11:36 PM
Turn the modem off ( power disconnect for an hour or so )
Plug it in then you should be good.
It has to "forget" the dual G4.

SkyHook
Aug 9th, 2006, 09:54 PM
>

guitar_lord
Aug 10th, 2006, 08:34 AM
You should be able to complete the following to get online right away

Release your IP
Turn off the modem
Connect it to the other PC
Renew

-that should release the IP and the MAC from Shaw's router and the send them the MAC for the new PC.

Or you should be able to clone the MAC address that they have in their bridge table (but option 1 is probably the best)

Good luck