: Messed up firmware on Ultra-Tek ATA 100P


Lawrence
Jan 5th, 2006, 11:01 PM
I messed up on an upgrade for my Ultra-Tek ATA 100P PCI card,
I thought it was a Sonnet Tempo card for some reason and I updated the firmware
with the Sonnet Tempo ATA 100 firmware 4.0, Now it won't boot OSX anymore.

Is there anything I can do with this to fix it or am I stuck with just OS 9 for this card now?

Argh!!!

Dave

apple=god
Jan 5th, 2006, 11:10 PM
theres gotta be a program somewhere that'll dump the firmware and replace it with a .bin file of your choice... look around. My best guess, though, is that youj'll have to a) live with 9 or b) buy a new graphics card... sorry bud.

Rob
Jan 5th, 2006, 11:25 PM
I have a VST Ultra Tek 66 card. The OSX firmware is still available on the OWC site. I don't know if this will work on a 100 card (did they even make a 100 card?).

http://eshop.macsales.com/VST/

Lawrence
Jan 5th, 2006, 11:32 PM
I have a VST Ultra Tek 66 card. The OSX firmware is still available on the OWC site. I don't know if this will work on a 100 card (did they even make a 100 card?).

http://eshop.macsales.com/VST/

Thanks Rob but I went through that site earlier,
Yeah...It's an unusual story with these cards, I did a lot of reading earlier via Google.

In anycase until I can find a solution I've switched cards with my Beige G3
which had a VST Raid ATA/66 card installed in it, It supports Tiger OSX 10.4.3. (Yeah!!!)

Dave :)

Lawrence
Jan 6th, 2006, 09:16 AM
Just got the ATA/100 card to work with OSX 10.2.8 Jaguar on my Beige G3,
So it must be something to do with Tiger not liking the firmware on this card in my Sawtooth.

Oh well, No matter, Guess I'd better start saving for a Sonnet ATA 133 card.

Dave

Lawrence
Jan 6th, 2006, 11:02 PM
I started having problems with the 3rd hard drive in my G4 tower after I installed
the Radeon 9000 64 mb video card and I suspect the reason is because this card is
possibly drawing more power than the NVIDIA 32 mb card that I had in its place.

Is that possible?

Or is it the VST ATA/66 card doesn't play nice with Tiger?

Guess I'll know once I get the 3rd drive into an external Firewire case.

apple=god
Jan 7th, 2006, 12:24 AM
try using a different power supply?