: Install Tiger on iMac G4 700 Mhz without DVD Drive


SINC
Dec 9th, 2005, 08:38 PM
I got my hands on an iMac G4 pedestal type model with only a CD drive so I can't use my Tiger DVD disk to install.

I want to upgrade it to Tiger from my 12" Al Powerbook which is running Tiger.

I assume I can just use a firewire cable and copy the PB to the iMac in target mode. Correct?

First though, I think I should wipe the iMac HD clean. Am I on the right track here? Any suggestions?

AppleAuthority
Dec 9th, 2005, 08:51 PM
Yep, you are on the right track. That's how I did the exact same iMac. Basically, boot the iMac in target disk mode, boot the PB from the OS X CD, and install to the FireWire HD that will show up (you'll know which one it is). Under 'Options', you can choose to do an "Erase and Install", which should format your drive to Mac OS Extended (Journaled), and proceed with installing Tiger!

SINC
Dec 9th, 2005, 09:14 PM
Yep, you are on the right track. That's how I did the exact same iMac. Basically, boot the iMac in target disk mode, boot the PB from the OS X CD, and install to the FireWire HD that will show up (you'll know which one it is). Under 'Options', you can choose to do an "Erase and Install", which should format your drive to Mac OS Extended (Journaled), and proceed with installing Tiger!
Just so I am clear here, there is no OS X CD. Tiger is a DVD and I don't think it is will boot the PB. I am thinking the firewire mode will basically "clone" the PB's HD on the iMac without using the Tiger DVD. Is this correct?

AppleAuthority
Dec 9th, 2005, 09:27 PM
Sorry my mistake, I meant to say DVD.

I originally thought you were intending to install a fresh copy of Tiger on the iMac, that's why I said to use Target Disk Mode to boot the iMac, then boot the PB off the DVD and choose the iMac as the destination. If you are thinking of cloning, you can do that, however I don't recommend it unless you are just wanting to get exactly the same data on the iMac.

If so, boot the iMac into Target Disk Mode, and use Disk Utility on the PowerBook to do a "Restore".

1. Choose the iMac's hard drive in Disk Utility, click the Restore tab.
2. Drag your PowerBook's HD into the Source box.
3. Drag the iMac's HD into the Destination box.
4. Check off "Erase Destination".

That should do the trick. :)

SINC
Dec 9th, 2005, 09:37 PM
Ideally, AA I would like to do a clean install, but I do not think the Tiger install DVD will allow me to boot the PB. Is it just hold down the "C" key to do so? It doesn't say that on the DVD and when I insert it in the PB it automatically restarts and proceeds to install. Will a window open to allow me to choose the install specifically to the iMac's HD?

HowEver
Dec 9th, 2005, 09:43 PM
Startup the iMac in FireWire Target Disk Mode (holding down the "t" key) while connected via FireWire to the running PowerBook.

Insert Tiger DVD in the PowerBook.

Click on "Install."

You'll be asked to Restart. Click restart. You'll then be given the choice of which drive to install Tiger on, so long as the iMac 'disk' is being recognized. Choose the iMac, select your option before proceeding (e.g., Clean Install), and then proceed.

Let us know if this works, it should.

SINC
Dec 9th, 2005, 09:45 PM
Thanks for the help guys. I get the iMac tomorrow, so will report back when I make the attempt.

You guys are great! :)

yoyo
Dec 9th, 2005, 09:48 PM
Turn off the imac and connect the 2 macs with a firewire cable. Start the imac holding down the T key. Imac should now have a big firewire symbol floating around on the monitor. Insert DVD into PB drive and double click. It will tell you to now restart the PB. Once booted choose the imac HDD for the instal and away you go.

AppleAuthority
Dec 9th, 2005, 09:55 PM
It should allow you to choose the iMac drive around step 3 of the process, which you will see as a FireWire drive icon. There is a button called "Options" which you can use to choose the type of install (Archive and Install to keep data, Erase Destination to start fresh). The next and final step asks what to install.

Good luck! :)

Digital_Gary
Dec 9th, 2005, 10:13 PM
You can also do the reverse. Put the Tiger DVD in the PB. Shut down and connect the 2 together with a FW cable. Start the PB up holding the T key and boot the imac normally. The PB's hard drive and the Tiger install DVD will mount on the iMac's desktop. Pick the Tiger DVD as your startup disk and reboot.

Either way will work.

AppleAuthority
Dec 9th, 2005, 10:21 PM
You can also do the reverse. Put the Tiger DVD in the PB. Shut down and connect the 2 together with a FW cable. Start the PB up holding the T key and boot the imac normally. The PB's hard drive and the Tiger install DVD will mount on the iMac's desktop. Pick the Tiger DVD as your startup disk and reboot.

Either way will work.

This is true, but with one exception. If the Tiger DVD you are using is the one that came with the PowerBook, it will only boot on the PowerBook.

ThirtyOne
Dec 9th, 2005, 10:39 PM
I own the same model iMac, and only have a CDRW in it. I installed Tiger a few months back using an external firewire DVD drive, which was about the easiest thing to do in this situation. Plenty of good advice already, but all I really wanted to add to this thread was that Tiger runs fantastic on the iMac 700. Hope you manage to get it installed.

SINC
Dec 11th, 2005, 09:25 PM
Update. Thanks to your guidance, I started the PB, attached the Firewire cable, started the iMac in Target mode, inserted the Tiger disk in the PB, followed the instructions and all went well. Tiger runs just fine on the iMac, so thanks again guys!

DoctorLes
Apr 2nd, 2010, 09:11 PM
Hi,

I recently read this thread b/c I have a similar issue: I have an old "pedestal" iMac 800MHZ that I'm trying to salvage. It had 10.2.8 on it and I want to upgrade to Tiger. I have some install discs for a G5 Mac but it won't let me install it on my pedestal iMac.

I tried the technique listed in the quote to clone my G4 Mac tower, which has 10.4 on it. However, after installing onto the iMac it won't boot. All I get a question mark initially, followed by a small icon with the smiling face very briefly. Then I get a circle with a slash through it signifying "nothing" (which means no operating system found, I presume).

BTW, my G4 Mac tower has QuickSilver installed on it. I don't know if that made a difference or not when I tried to clone the tower's HD, but it seems to have.

Any hints would be helpful, but I don't want to shell out $150 on eBay for install discs and Apple won't sell them.

Thanks

Les

Sorry my mistake, I meant to say DVD.

I originally thought you were intending to install a fresh copy of Tiger on the iMac, that's why I said to use Target Disk Mode to boot the iMac, then boot the PB off the DVD and choose the iMac as the destination. If you are thinking of cloning, you can do that, however I don't recommend it unless you are just wanting to get exactly the same data on the iMac.

If so, boot the iMac into Target Disk Mode, and use Disk Utility on the PowerBook to do a "Restore".

1. Choose the iMac's hard drive in Disk Utility, click the Restore tab.
2. Drag your PowerBook's HD into the Source box.
3. Drag the iMac's HD into the Destination box.
4. Check off "Erase Destination".

That should do the trick. :)

CanadaRAM
Apr 2nd, 2010, 09:44 PM
I have an old "pedestal" iMac 800MHZ It had 10.2.8 on it and I want to upgrade to Tiger. I have some install discs for a G5 Mac but it won't let me install it on my pedestal iMac.
I tried the technique listed in the quote to clone my G4 Mac tower, which has 10.4 on it. However, after installing onto the iMac it won't boot. All I get a question mark initially, followed by a small icon with the smiling face very briefly. Then I get a circle with a slash through it signifying "nothing" (which means no operating system found, I presume).
...
Any hints would be helpful, but I don't want to shell out $150 on eBay for install discs

In general, this means that the OSX system is installed on the iMac G4 but the resources that came over from the G4 tower are not correct for the iMac to boot.

But I have to point out - this is a fundamenatally different issue than the original poster. SINC had a new DVD disk of OSX. You don't have one - you are trying to use an install from another Mac. This is not within the software license for your OSX - so cloning 10.4 onto your iMac would not be legitimate. The legit solution is to buy a retail disk set of 10.4. Sorry.

pm-r
Apr 3rd, 2010, 03:42 PM
If you contact Apple Canada customer service and get down on bended knee they may help you, and the cost will be the same as a Leopard Install DVD disk.

But I'd suggest you get hold of an Apple tech in your area and I'm sure they'll be able to help you.

Patrick
------