: Case for partitioning pretty clear in any OS doing graphics


MacDoc
Oct 10th, 2003, 11:13 PM
We've always explained to clients that we partition in 3 for both speed and safety.
Well here's good proof of the speed for leaving a separate Photoshop partition in the fastest part of the drive ( our standard policy )
:eek: http://www.barefeats.com/image04/h33-sr.gif

http://www.barefeats.com/hard33.html

We typically do a small PS partition, then a system partition then the a separate data partition. It's saved a few designers butts along the way but while we KNEW the speed was good for PS to have it's own paly area this is the first time we've seen the actually difference.....that's a big diff if your are running PS day in day out.



100% free webcam site! (http://showmewebcam.com/?p=0) | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! (http://showmewebcam.com/?p=2) | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3 (http://showmewebcam.com/?p=4)

iLabmAn
Oct 10th, 2003, 11:18 PM
I partitioned my 60 gig for video work. And it made a difference in speed for rendering. FYI.

JAMG
Oct 11th, 2003, 12:45 AM
I have always partitioned in four parts..

Main system
Fonts library 3-5 gig is much more than enough..
Secondary system {Test other OS's or back up system}
Main files

I have always founs system maintenance runs faster when all those fonts are not on the boot drive... Suitcase doesn't care where they are...

The Great Waka
Oct 11th, 2003, 12:51 AM
I know that I should partition, but I don't know what amounts to set. Right now I have one 60gig drive which has the system, all my apps, and all my files. My second drive is 80gigs and it has all my film work files, backup of my documents, and scrach disk space. If I was to partition, how much space should I allocate to what? Whenever I think about partitioning, I always worry that one day I will want to install something and I don't have enough room in my apps partition, or a file that I work on grows larger that the partition can allow.

angrymonkey
Oct 11th, 2003, 02:16 AM
Macdoc, I've just partitioned drives a few times before and don't know all the ins and outs.
I'm wondering why you say to have a small photoshop scratch partition first- wouldn't this be better the larger it is?(Depending on the size of the files you use...)

ram55
Oct 11th, 2003, 09:38 AM
My hard drive has a 5 gig partition which is alloted to photoshop only. The the secondary scratch being a 26 gig partiton which is a holding area before I use an external drive to store everything on. Its recommended that your scratch disk be 5 times the size of the largest file you work on. My files get up around 2 to 3 hundred megs so 5 gigs is pretty good. A good tip in photoshop is close any files your not working with as they use up your scratch space even if they are idle. By the way this was Macdocs set up for me and it works perfectly.

gowyn
Oct 11th, 2003, 10:08 AM
Just wondering how a RAID would fit into the picture?

jtmac
Oct 11th, 2003, 10:09 AM
macdoc - always great advice!

I find photoshop really likes having the primary scratch partition on a separate drive from your system/programs and data.

My setup:
hard disk 1 is partitioned into three (system/apps; secondary scratch; data)
hard disk 2 is partitioned into three (backup system/apps; primary scratch; backup data)

I use scheduled CCC to backup system/apps daily and data hourly.

After lots of experimenting with G4s this seems the best for my graphics needs.

macdoc - after reading your posts and website, noting the G5 Raid performance, I'm already pondering how to set up my new G5 that I haven't even ordered yet!
Any suggestions? ;)

MacDoc
Oct 11th, 2003, 10:22 AM
Yes that's correct for all uses audio video or photoshop a separate drive or even better a raid is useful but even there restricting the scratch to the outer "speed zone" is useful rather than just leaving PS to "fill in the gaps".

The Ssystem partition benefits being near the outer edge loading faster etc which is why we do that second but use those first 2 gigs for the programs that really need it. :D

:( Can't partition a RAID in X....yet. but even the slowest part of a RAID is faster than the fastest part of a single drive.



100% free webcam site! (http://showmewebcam.com/?p=0) | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! (http://showmewebcam.com/?p=2) | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3 (http://showmewebcam.com/?p=4)

jtmac
Oct 11th, 2003, 01:04 PM
macdoc - Thanks, I pretty much figured that the RAID0 was faster.

If you run two internal raided disks in a G5, for ultimate working speed, do you suggest backing up to an external firewire?

I suppose the firewire disk should be equal in size to the sum of the two internals?

I wonder what the best combination is? Maybe twin 80 Gb internals and a 160 Gb firewire?

MacDoc
Oct 11th, 2003, 01:26 PM
Putting a small scratch partition first in fastest part of the drive does two things - keep the speed for PS/scratch and that's often an area that gets damaged.
After that it's your choice just remember that your system inparticular needs breathing room - be generous

and most of all

BACK UP!! :D



100% free webcam site! (http://showmewebcam.com/?p=0) | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! (http://showmewebcam.com/?p=2) | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3 (http://showmewebcam.com/?p=4)

Ohenri
Oct 11th, 2003, 11:46 PM
nice post. I needed to read this. I'll be partitioning my next HD for sure. Still not entirely clear on it but i do unerstand the basics. + with the speed improvements?? :eek: no doubt!

H!

MacGenius
Oct 12th, 2003, 09:16 AM
Partitions can really be benefitical if setup correctly. For one, I still can't figure out why Apple hasn't done what Linux does and creates a dedicated swap partition for the VM system.

Even if they made it invisible it would be nice. oh wel.

mmp
Oct 20th, 2003, 09:34 AM
I find this thread very interesting for two reasons: I have heard about partitioning drives but never really understood why, and because I have a new (new to me) machine on the way.

What I have coming is a B&W G3 @ 400mhz, 896MB RAM, 12gig and 60 gig hard drives (I think both are 5400 rpm). How should I set this unit up in light of this thread? Does it matter which drive is first as the master and which as slave? What should go on the outer part of the disk and how do you do that? (outer is the first or last partition?)

I plan on running 10.2 as the everyday operating system. I also plan on keeping a small partition to run OS 9.1 when I need it in case I face compatibility issues with my scanner.

Again I find this discussion interesting, particularily the why part, so any help is appreciated.

Sorry if this should have been a new post in Help and Troubleshooting but I latched it on here rather than start a new discussion.

Jordan
Oct 20th, 2003, 11:09 AM
So is the Mac Scratch the same/similar as a Linux Swap?

mmp have you tried VueScan, I have an Acer scanner and it works flawlessly in 10.2.6

MacDoc
Oct 20th, 2003, 11:11 AM
JTMac the 160 raid + 160 FW is ideal - since you never want your working drive anywhere close to full ( keep 20% free especially with X ( note MacGenius' comment about swap files ) you don't HAVE to have a 1:1 space as backup can just be your own critical files and we recommend a system backup as well.
But a full clone is really nice. :cool:



MMP there will not be a huge speed gain by partitioning as your 33 meg per second bus limitation on the Blue will mean full saturation all the time. I'd use the 12 for OS9 and critical file backup, a small scratch on the 60 gig for Photoshop, maybe 2 gigs then perhaps 20 for OSX and the rest as a safe data partition.



100% free webcam site! (http://showmewebcam.com/?p=0) | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! (http://showmewebcam.com/?p=2) | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3 (http://showmewebcam.com/?p=4)

mmp
Oct 20th, 2003, 10:20 PM
macdoc,

Thanks for the advice...one question probably not the brightest but I'll ask anyway...is the 33mhz limit the reason some B&W owners add a Sonnet ATA 66 card (think I've seen this fairly commonlt in posts)? If so would it be worth my while to add one of these? Thanks.

Jordan,
Haven't used Vuescan...may have a look at it though, thanks for the advice as well.

rhythms
Jan 28th, 2004, 10:57 PM
I know I'm resurrecting a really old thread, but...

is the 'first' partition the same as the top partition when using Apple's Disk Utility?

is that the outer rim of the drive or the inner hub?

Are partitions set up from the outer edge to the inside edge?

thanks for your help

gordguide
Jan 29th, 2004, 12:28 AM
No, OSX doesn't use the same VM system as Linux.