: How do I know what Mac I have and whether it will be ok?


iLabmAn
Oct 10th, 2003, 09:55 PM
Well....I bought a used PowerMac G4. It actually is branded as a G4 Server, but it's a PowerMac nonetheless. It's a 500 MHZ G4, AGP model.

I recently asked for your advice as to what G$ to grab: PCI based or AGP. Many advised me to go the AGP route...but one ehMac family member warned my about the early AGP models.

So....am I bracing myself for trouble here? I've had a few strange messages while using my Mac tonight: I get a white screen with foreign characters at the bottom. The message in the centre tells me to restart my Mac.

Any 500MHZ G4 AGP users out there?

MacDoc
Oct 10th, 2003, 10:02 PM
You are getting kernel panics.
You have a Sawtooth 500 with 2xAGP
The server part is meaningless.
You need to check your firmware in the system profiler it should be 4.2.8
Look at your RAM if you have a bunch of mix and match drop down to one that looks original - preferably Pc100 222.
I would reset the open firmware as well ( Command Option O F - then type reset-all )
THEN install 10.2 once you've checked through this.
First upgrade - at least 512 RAM total
second upgrade - 32 meg video card or better for QE
third - 8 meg cache drive

= :D :D



100% free webcam site! (http://showmewebcam.com/?p=0) | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! (http://showmewebcam.com/?p=2) | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3 (http://showmewebcam.com/?p=4)

iLabmAn
Oct 10th, 2003, 10:12 PM
Kernal panics eh? Yes. That sounds right.

Ok. I had backed up all my data using Copy Cloner from my iMac G3 to this machine. I guess I should reinstall OS 10.2 on my G4 (the G3 was running X too).

As for firmware, yes....I did ensure that it was set to version 4.2.8 before copying my data.

What could explain the panics?

iLabmAn
Oct 10th, 2003, 10:19 PM
Do I need to reinstall my OS?

yoyo
Oct 10th, 2003, 11:16 PM
Maybe the scsi card is a problem.