: Should I get Tiger?

mr.steevo
Sep 5th, 2005, 06:17 PM
Hi,

My brother-in law just got Tiger for his 1Ghz PowerBook and he says it made it considerably faster. He lives in another city and so I haven't seen it. He also has the tendency to get over enthusiastic over anthing new, so I take what he says with caution. Should I get Tiger for my 1Ghz iBook or is the graphics card too slow to make any improvement?

I would really prefer objective answers that have fact behind them rather than "Tiger rocks!" and "Do it, dude!". Thanks.

s.

Fink-Nottle
Sep 5th, 2005, 06:26 PM
Hi,

I do tech support for a living and I would certainly recommend Tiger. It is faster on ALL hardware and is generally a little more polished than its predecessor. The new features aren't bad either.

Cheers!

PirateMyke
Sep 5th, 2005, 06:29 PM
i use Tiger on a iMac DV 400MHz and it runs very fast on it with no flaws!! i'd recommend it to anyone looking to upgrade!

iPetie
Sep 5th, 2005, 06:38 PM
Yes, definately! Every iteration of X has seen vast improvements and Tiger is no exception. You will notice a difference and as Fink-Nottle pointed out, the new features alone are very nice.

Gerbill
Sep 5th, 2005, 06:42 PM
Absolutely, upgrade to Tiger, but be aware that there are a few minor bumps in the road. Some applications need to be updated, some drivers need to be replaced - really just the usual stuff. Make sure that you have a good backup of your present install, preferably a bootable clone on an external hard drive.

pingpong
Sep 5th, 2005, 07:02 PM
I recently upgraded to Tiger and I see no difference in performance. If you like Spotlight and Dashborad, you may want to have a try, otherwise, you won't feel any difference. It's not worth the money.

Peter Sensei
Sep 5th, 2005, 07:34 PM
I recently upgraded to Tiger and I see no difference in performance. If you like Spotlight and Dashborad, you may want to have a try, otherwise, you won't feel any difference. It's not worth the money.