: New ibook owner -- laser jet buying advice?

imeldamac
Aug 27th, 2005, 01:56 PM
I just got an ibook -- not newest model but 14 inch G4 133 MGz. I will be using this computer in my office. I have to ditch my old Samsung printer becase it is not USB (or even Mac compatible). I need to buy a new laser printer -- moderate use, black and white printing of text and graphs.

My requirements are cheap and reliable. I am looking at the HP LaserJet 1012 Laser Printer, $179 at Future Shop. I also need to get something right away (or else I won't be able to print at work on Monday).

Any Mac OSX, Tiger users have experience with this one?

Thanks in advance from a real newbie.

andreww
Aug 27th, 2005, 02:09 PM
I have no experience with that model but I can tell you that of all the printers I've dealt with, HPs are the most reliable. If its HP and mac compatable you will be happy.

Vexel
Aug 27th, 2005, 02:13 PM
2nd to HP printers.. I suggest Canon.. any printer I've tried from Canon seems to be quite reliable. :) And Mac friendly of course.

andrewenterprise
Aug 27th, 2005, 02:21 PM
I have that same printer, HP LasterJet 1012, and I find it to be excellent. It works well and is Mac compatible :D

imeldamac
Aug 27th, 2005, 02:55 PM
Thanks everyone.

I'm off to Future Shop.

dona83
Aug 27th, 2005, 03:29 PM
HP printers are great printers, but get PSP on them in case the paper feeding system goes bonkers. My Laserjet 6L and my boss' Deskjet developed feeding problems after a couple of years. This is true for Epson printers as well. Canon does not have this problem but afaik they don't make laser printers affordable enough for home use.

Oh Samsung make good laser printers that are really reliable.

Lawrence
Aug 27th, 2005, 03:37 PM
I saw a Brother Laser printer that I considered buying...
I'm a photographer and colour isn't really that important to me.
I have a Canon colour printer but I always print in greyscale (Don't ask)

I saw the printer at "The Source" for $99.