: Wireless Router Suggestions for my office


simon
Jul 30th, 2005, 10:58 AM
I can't decide what wireless router to get for my home office. I have found a wireless adaptor for my Lombard, I have an Airport card for my iBook - now what should I get for the server side? They will use the wireless capabilities for internet connection only and the occasional transfer of small files.

I currently use a wired Netgear DSL Router which still has to be used as I still would have, and need, my wired network. I need to replace this with a wired/wireless unit or can I just add a Apple Airport Base Station to the wired router?

Suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Clockwork
Jul 30th, 2005, 11:17 AM
I use a linksys wireless WRT54G. I have no problems at all. I have heard many network specialists say that D-Link is not that good and is prone to problems. they are also cheaper than other companies so you get what you pay for. Many people have problems with D-Link including my brother who is a PC tech. Some people have no problems with D-Link but I was not going to take the chance. Linksys is owned by Cisco so I would go with them personally. We have a netgear network at work and sometimes it is unstable. I have also heard netgear is one of the best but I think Linksys are better from my own experience with the two.

nxnw
Jul 30th, 2005, 12:55 PM
I use a linksys wireless WRT54G. I have no problems at all. I have heard many network specialists say that D-Link is not that good and is prone to problems. they are also cheaper than other companies so you get what you pay for. Many people have problems with D-Link including my brother who is a PC tech. Some people have no problems with D-Link but I was not going to take the chance. Linksys is owned by Cisco so I would go with them personally. We have a netgear network at work and sometimes it is unstable. I have also heard netgear is one of the best but I think Linksys are better from my own experience with the two.My linksys router can't recover from a network interruption without somebody manually cycling the power. It is a serious nuisance, and our ISP's tech support advised this is a common linksys issue.
I got a D-link for my assistant, for home, and was impressed by the rich feature set.

guytoronto
Jul 31st, 2005, 12:09 PM
Linksys is owned by Cisco so I would go with them personally.

Linksys is a great company. You can't go wrong with their products. Sometimes, they equipment is a little more expensive than a Netgear or D-Link, but there is a reason for that. Their hardware is good quality. The router firmware is designed intelligently. A very solid company.

mcmug
Jul 31st, 2005, 01:26 PM
My linksys router can't recover from a network interruption without somebody manually cycling the power. It is a serious nuisance, and our ISP's tech support advised this is a common linksys issue.
I got a D-link for my assistant, for home, and was impressed by the rich feature set.

I have the same problem too and have to reset the router 1-2 times/day, thats a pain :(

AppleAuthority
Jul 31st, 2005, 01:40 PM
I currently use a wired Netgear DSL Router which still has to be used as I still would have, and need, my wired network. I need to replace this with a wired/wireless unit or can I just add a Apple Airport Base Station to the wired router?


I have an Airport Extreme Base Station (with modem, cause we are on dial up), and although it was costly, I am very happy with it. It always works well, and in your situation, just plug the router into the LAN port on the Base Station. It has a very wide range of options, and works well with Windows machines running XP SP2, and of course all the Macs. You could even plug your DSL directly into the WAN port as well, and just use the router for the wired computers. Again however, the base station is an expensive unit.

tikibangout
Jul 31st, 2005, 01:44 PM
Theres always the Airport Express, but maybe that might not be enough for your needs?