: PC133 in G3 iMac


legioss
Jul 29th, 2005, 05:38 PM
I know that most PC133 ram will clock down to 100 in PC's but will this work on the iMac? Also the ram I have is rather tall, will this fit in the iMac?

Thanks all.

TrevX
Jul 30th, 2005, 01:32 AM
I know that most PC133 ram will clock down to 100 in PC's but will this work on the iMac? Also the ram I have is rather tall, will this fit in the iMac?

Thanks all.

Which iMac? The first iMacs that came out were PC 66, and only after a revision or two did they change to PC 100.

If its a later model, then yes it will work with full height RAM.

Trev

andrewenterprise
Jul 30th, 2005, 02:06 AM
I've heard instances of PC 133 not working for some odd reason. Perhaps someone who has had that happen could give some more info?

Grazer5
Jul 30th, 2005, 09:58 AM
I have had a 512 stick of PC133 RAM running in my iMac G3500 for three years now. The stick did go bad but was replaced under warranty ( Shiva ). No problems whatsoever since the replacement.

TrevX
Jul 30th, 2005, 12:23 PM
I've heard instances of PC 133 not working for some odd reason. Perhaps someone who has had that happen could give some more info?

I've only ever used PC133 in my iMac G3 and I've never had a problem. Make sure to get quality RAM though, not cheap generic RAM.

I got mine a few years ago from Other World Computing.

Trev

CanadaRAM
Jul 30th, 2005, 12:51 PM
You need to choose RAM that is Mac compatible -- much of the PC Generic PC133 on the market is high density (4 or 8 chip) which will not work in your machine. The iMac slot-loading CD machines require a low density 16 chip 512 Mb DIMM.

If you have a tray-loading (233-333MHz) iMac, then forget about the PC133.

Your best bet is to buy from a reputable dealer who tests and guarantees compatibility with your model Mac, offers a lifetime warranty and a no-cost return if it doesn't work.

Thanks
Trevor
CanadaRAM.com