: U/G a 400 MHz iMac G3 to Tiger?


Wintel Devotee
Jul 27th, 2005, 03:58 PM
My GF has a iMac which is now all ready for UG to OS X. It's a slot loading DVD-ROM model so presumably 400 MHz CPU. Has 576MB RAM (up from 2x64MB originally) + original 10 GB drive.

Will the computer be too slow to run Tiger? Will be doing mostly websurfing/internet, some photo editing, MS Office suite stuff.

Would upgrading the drive to a bigger, faster one help?

MacDoc
Jul 27th, 2005, 04:06 PM
It will do fine tho a better drive would help.

MBD
Jul 27th, 2005, 04:48 PM
What MacDoc said. :) Even my little ibook is amazing on Tiger. Can't wait to upgrade my mom's iMac!

Kosh
Jul 27th, 2005, 05:32 PM
With what she is doing it should work okay except for the photo editting possibly. If the size of the photos (in MBs) is small and she's not using photoshop it should be okay. The drive is a little on the small side - a bigger, faster one would be nice.

Wintel Devotee
Jul 27th, 2005, 06:09 PM
Thanks. I've just bought a WDC 120 GB drive for it. Hope 8mb cache 7200 rpm is o.k. (not too hot).

jdurston
Jul 27th, 2005, 07:10 PM
I just upgrade my b/w G3 350Mhz to Tiger. It feels better in Tiger than in Panther. It still has the 16MB video card (doesn't seem to be an issue for internet/word processing). The UI in Tiger has so much more snap to it than Panther.

I just added another drive as a slave to store all my media on, but Tiger is on the old tiny HD. I just through a superdrive in as well. $63 at canadacomputers.com for a pioneer DVR-109(OEM)

Mugatu
Jul 27th, 2005, 07:50 PM
If you upgrade the HD, be sure to stick to a 4300 or 5400 rpm drive. 7200s can overheat inside the G3 iMacs.

Tiger runs 'alright' on the G3 iMacs we have in the testing lab at my work. Just stuff it with as much ram as possible if you are planning to use more than one application at a time.

jdurston
Jul 27th, 2005, 08:17 PM
If you upgrade the HD, be sure to stick to a 4300 or 5400 rpm drive. 7200s can overheat inside the G3 iMacs.


Do certain 7200rpm drives run cooler? I put a Seagate 7200 rpm into my girlfriends mom's computer two year ago. It has run fine ever since.

Mugatu
Jul 27th, 2005, 09:08 PM
Do certain 7200rpm drives run cooler? I put a Seagate 7200 rpm into my girlfriends mom's computer two year ago. It has run fine ever since.

Not sure... it would make sense though. All I know is that we had some troubles in our testing lab at work because of 7200 rpm drives in G3 iMacs. Then again, they were pretty damn cheap 7200 HDs. :)

Grazer5
Jul 30th, 2005, 10:10 AM
I've had a WD120 7200 HD running in my iMac G3500 for over a year now with no problems. It's quieter than the original, a Maxtor that died after only 2 years.

The Doug
Jul 30th, 2005, 10:39 AM
I put this (http://www.seagate.com/cda/products/discsales/marketing/detail/0,1081,579,00.html) Seagate drive in my brother's Snow iMac almost a year ago, and it's been running just fine ever since. Here (https://www.ehmac.ca/showthread.php?t=12906&highlight=brother%27s+imac) is the thread about it.

I can't remember where I heard it (MacDoc? :D), but a 7200rpm fluid-bearing drive with a 2meg cache, such as this Seagate, is by far a better choice than one with more cache e.g. 8 megs. The larger the cache, the more heat the drive will produce -- even if the drive has a fluid bearing.

Since these iMacs use convection cooling (no fans) putting an hot-running HD in there would be a mistake. However the 7200 rpm Seagate I put in my brother's iMac actually runs cooler than the old OEM Maxtor that failed. If I recall correctly the old Maxtor was a 40gig, 5400rpm model. Noisy and hot.

MacDoc
Jul 30th, 2005, 01:45 PM
What he said :clap:

Seagates are cooler, 2 meg caches are cooler tho a bit slower. WDs DO run hot tho later iMacs seem to tolerate it. I'd have more concern about the drive cooking than a later iMac tho both are somewhat subject to heat stress.

PirateMyke
Jul 31st, 2005, 04:39 AM
HardDrive would help ALOT!!! :D