: Your Advice Please

wonderings
Sep 1st, 2004, 11:09 AM
I have a few video jobs that I will be doing for some people. One job will be making a small 5 min video that will be played on a loop in a sports complex in my area. I have never done any video work for money before. What is a average wage for something like that? I know I could not charge what a professional charges, and thats fine. But I would like to get an idea as to what a pro charges for putting together a 5 min video.

thanks

MacNutt
Sep 2nd, 2004, 04:56 PM
Lord only knows. There are too many variables for me to even guess at what to charge.

-are you shooting the footage? Or just making the loop?
-will it be seen by hundreds? Thousands? Tens of thousands?
-will it ever be used again? Or is it just a one time thing?
-any special titles, effects, or soundtrack (music) required? All of this cost more, and is more trouble to do.
-what format will you be using? If it's shot on miniDV, then you can probably do it for pretty cheap. Anything else will cost wayyy more to shoot or edit.

Perhaps if you filled in some of the blanks for us, then someone could take a stab at a ballpark price. Maybe. ;)

wonderings
Sep 2nd, 2004, 08:29 PM