: Need some tips for teaching my daughter how to ride a bike.

moonsocket
Aug 21st, 2004, 12:12 PM
Hi all,
I am a terrible teacher. Im trying to teach my l;ittle girl how to ride a bike. She's going to be 8 in a week and i think its about time she started riding her new bike. She mastered training wheels years ago but im having trouble with the no training wheels.
Any help would be great!!!
Chris

simon
Aug 21st, 2004, 03:31 PM
After getting three kids to ride bikes - two being girls - I'll give you this advice. Trust your kid, if she has mastered the training wheels, trust her (but protect her). Tell her that you are going to take the training wheels off the bike next week because you think she is ready to ride without them, just don't do it without telling them (for some reason it freaks them out).

When the training wheels are off have her practise (with or without Dad's help) on a quiet sidewalk, preferably with grass on either side and just trust them - let me tell you they learn fast. They will fall once or twice, pick them up brush them off and put them right back on the seat. She will quickly master this skill.

Have fun

Dr.G.
Aug 21st, 2004, 04:46 PM
I agree with Simon. The key also is to get her to go fairly fast (with you running behind) to give her a sense of motion and balance. My son would pedal slowly, and it was not until he went faster that he was actually riding his bike, rather than having me keep his balance as we crawled along. Actually, parking lots in federal or provincial buildings are good, in that they are empty on Sundays and have room to meander, rather than only go in a straight line.

MacDoc
Aug 21st, 2004, 05:01 PM
Yep I'll third it.
A bit of speed and about 20 feet of running along and it'll click real fast.
Most important is the you have the longest possible safe path for the initial ride as stopping is the hardest part.
Once she's up and riding she needs time and space to "settle in" without worrying about having to stop.