: Unreal Tournament 2003: Performance Reports


monokitty
May 7th, 2003, 11:23 PM
Ok, list your machine and what performance you're getting. Also list your graphic and resolution settings, 16 or 32-bit. I'm waiting for my G4/800 before even trying this game. ;)

GreekGuy
May 8th, 2003, 02:48 AM
I have an emac, 768 megs of ram G4 700. The performance SUCKS

What is really whacko is that on my ibook 800 G3 384 megs, is the same performance.....

I'd expect that the emac would be faster since its a G4. I've also recently reinstalled everything on the Emac..

I wonder if they are utilizing the G4 to its potential...

GreekGuy
May 8th, 2003, 02:49 AM
btw, i took them down to 16 bit 640x480 as well.
improved a bit, but when there are bots or other people around it still is choppy.

The Great Waka
May 8th, 2003, 02:58 AM
DP 867 G4 MDD with 1.25 Gigs of Ram and a GeForce4MX card

At 1600x1200x32 it runs okay, but online it is too laggy. Drop it down to 1280x1024x32 and its just fine :D

I think its the video card thats holding me up...maybe I should upgrade...thats next after my second hard drive and DVD burner graemlins/greedy.gif Yup, broke again for this month.

VertiGoGo
May 8th, 2003, 09:17 AM
My eMac stats are in my signature. My graphic settings are pretty high and it ran like a dream this morning when I tried it online.

Even at pings as high as 200 it was absolutely smooth sailing. This game is going to ROCK my world!!!

I am looking forward to some serious fragging with other ehMaccers. :D graemlins/heybaby.gif

JohnnyG4
May 8th, 2003, 11:19 AM
Ok... Just tried it a time or two...

First system config:
Quicksilver Dual 1GHz, 1GB o RAM and a GeForce 4Ti (4600).
1024 x 768 - 32 bit depth - things set to what appear maximum.

Nice and smooth! (Anyway of getting 'official' FPS out of the demo?)

Got to find that darn Redeemer. Got blown to bits by it and the shock-wave look great!

John

neema
May 8th, 2003, 11:32 AM
yo yo everyone.

PowerMac G4 Dual 867, 768mb, ATI Radeon 9000

1280x1024 @ 32bit
Settings are all at 'normal'

Frame rate usually averages around 25fps.. I think I am going to drop my settings a little bit though, I don't notice that big of a difference... I'm not one to look at details when I'm fragging! :D

To show your FPS, either hit "TAB" or "`" and type in:
"stat fps"

Hope that helps!

GreekGuy
May 8th, 2003, 01:06 PM
I got around 13 FPS. What about any other eMac owners?

jfpoole
May 8th, 2003, 01:27 PM
I'm getting an average of 75fps (although it seems to hit 100fps every now and then) at 1024x768 (32 bits) with all the bells and whistles turned on.

P4 2.26GHz, 512MB of RAM, nVidia GeForce 4 Ti 4200 tongue.gif

Please don't lynch me.

GreekGuy
May 8th, 2003, 01:43 PM
Maybe I should get my PC back LOL

I'm baffled.
My iBook runs at 33 fps... and its a G3
and the eMac is at 13.

Kosh
May 8th, 2003, 02:13 PM
My iBook runs at 33 fps... and its a G3
and the eMac is at 13. GreekGuy, I think that's easily explained. The iBook has a Radeon 7500 graphics chip and the eMac has a Geforce 2MX (I think?). The Radeon 7500 is better. Also, for games the extra speed helps, so even if it's only a G3, it probably helps. UT2003 may not be optimized for a G4.

GreekGuy
May 8th, 2003, 02:19 PM
Ah ok, i didnt know the Radeon was better than the Geforce 2MX.

That would make sense then.

Thanks!

Kosh
May 8th, 2003, 04:12 PM
Hey, GreekGuy, are you running MacOS X.2.6?

On another forum it was noticed that Geforce cards, even Geforce 3's and Geforce 4's seemed to be getting lower FPS than ATI cards. Don't know what the problem is, but I was wondering if it was that Geforce owners haven't upgraded to MacOS X.2.6. Of course this may not help for you and I still don't know if that's the problem. It may be that there are still some problems with the Geforce drivers after the X.2.6 Geforce drivers.

monokitty
May 8th, 2003, 04:20 PM
You should really be running 10.2.6 for this game, and have the latest ATI/NVIDA drivers installed for your video card for max performance.

Kosh
May 8th, 2003, 04:31 PM
I'll have to check my FPS, because I did install the MacOS X.2.6 update befor the UT2003 install.

GreekGuy
May 8th, 2003, 04:38 PM
Both systems have 10.2.6.
I think its just a fact of better video card on the ibook vs the geforce 2mx on emac.

For the latest video drivers, I guess a standard update would cover this or would i need to get individual drivers from ati and nvidia and install them in osx?

Kosh
May 8th, 2003, 05:16 PM
The newest drivers were in the 10.2.6 update.

Kosh
May 8th, 2003, 05:44 PM
Some info on UT2003 performance with G3 and G4's and Dual's:

The demo UI won't let you specify various resolutions that fit (say) a 23"
Cinema Display well. This is because the list of available resolutions are
hardcoded in UnrealScript and changing this breaks network compatibility with
Linux and Windows players. I snuck all the popular Mac screen resolutions
(like 1680x1050 and 1920x1200) in before the latest win32 patch, so the
retail Mac version will have these out of the box. The brave among you can
get the demo to use these resolutions by editing a config file; otherwise,
you can use the in-game UI for the price of the game. smile.gif

There are Altivec optimizations if you've got a G4 CPU, but this isn't
required (game runs on G3s for you poor bastards that are in iBook land).

The game does use dual CPUs...the music is decoded in a separate thread
which MacOS X will toss on the second processor on dual systems. Some
implementations of OpenAL will do their mixing on the second processor, too.
On Linux, this is easily a 5-10 fps boost for SMP boxes, and I wouldn't be
surprised to see similar results on the Mac...but I haven't explicitly
benchmarked this. Most games are generally single-threaded, but understand
that this means a Dual box will still be able to cook one CPU for the game
itself and run the other 20 or so system processes on the other processor,
so there's still a benefit to this.
This info is found here http://icculus.org/cgi-bin/finger/finger.pl?user=icculus

jfpoole
May 8th, 2003, 09:16 PM
Just tried UT2003 on my PowerBook (G4 667MHz, 1MB L3 Cache, 512MB RAM) and even with all of the eye candy turned off I was only able to get ~10FPS.

Ow.

Heart
May 8th, 2003, 09:48 PM
Just fired it up with the default settings....

1Ghz / 512MB / 64MB DDR NVIDIA GeForce4 / LCD 17"

... I think I wet my pants .... graemlins/lmao.gif

Let's frag !!! :mad:

Heart
May 8th, 2003, 09:57 PM
Looking for a server....

jfpoole ?

moonsocket
May 8th, 2003, 10:03 PM
server up?

ehMax
May 8th, 2003, 10:06 PM
Hey... let's frag... who's got the eye pee! :D

ehMax
May 8th, 2003, 10:10 PM
Feel's like when you were a kid and everyone had their hockey equipment on, but nobody had a puck. :D tongue.gif

I'd host, but I'm behind firewall with airport, and its been acting strange but working now, so I'd rather leave well enough alone.

Maybe someone could find a game online and we could all join?

jfpoole?

ehMax
May 8th, 2003, 10:18 PM
I'm there... will check back here in a bit to see if there is an "ehMac Specific" game via jfpoole or something. :D

ehMax
May 8th, 2003, 10:24 PM
Heart, that IP is not working for me... will try again...

monokitty
May 8th, 2003, 10:24 PM
Just tried UT2003 on my PowerBook (G4 667MHz, 1MB L3 Cache, 512MB RAM) and even with all of the eye candy turned off I was only able to get ~10FPS.

Ow.No wonder - 16 MB of video memory, ouch.

Heart
May 8th, 2003, 10:33 PM
66.30.248.194:7777

ehMax
May 8th, 2003, 10:36 PM
Hope to see you there!

moonsocket
May 8th, 2003, 10:38 PM
its full :(

ehMax
May 8th, 2003, 10:43 PM
Yes, tis full... Was watching you Heart...You wuz representen! :D

STill with that no puck feeling... Dang.. I want to play. :(

Heart
May 8th, 2003, 10:45 PM
You guys pick one and I will see you there

Heart
May 8th, 2003, 10:48 PM
This demo is buggy....

ehMax
May 8th, 2003, 10:49 PM
[Edit] that one no good...

moonsocket
May 8th, 2003, 10:49 PM
i set one up called socket's server
dont know how to get my ip on windows

Heart
May 8th, 2003, 10:51 PM
24.231.14.132:7777

ehMax
May 8th, 2003, 10:52 PM
*sigh*.... Now I really want to frag something. tongue.gif

Heart
May 8th, 2003, 10:52 PM
Hey I am there

ehMax
May 8th, 2003, 10:52 PM
Ok heart... will try that one...

Heart
May 8th, 2003, 10:55 PM
wwhoo
hoo

ehMax
May 8th, 2003, 11:04 PM
lag unplayable at that server for me.... worse than bad. :(

Heart
May 8th, 2003, 11:36 PM
Thanks for hosting MoonSocket..

moonsocket
May 8th, 2003, 11:36 PM
thanks for playing guys!
that was fun!

Britnell
May 9th, 2003, 03:43 AM
G4 dual 1.25, 768 RAM

I left the UT settings as there were. I find the game is very pretty, runs very well, very playable.

The spin up time for the chain gun sucks, the rocket launcher will not do multiple rockets or granades, making it a useless piece of crap. I'm disappointed that there are not 2 or 3 maps in the demo for Bomb Run. I've really taken a shine to that game.

VertiGoGo
May 9th, 2003, 07:39 AM
T"was nice to get a few shots at the Mayor. smile.gif

As for performance, I only had a couple moments of lag and that was it. I have experienced no bugs either.

Hip hip hooray for my eMac! graemlins/heybaby.gif

Kosh
May 9th, 2003, 10:56 AM
the rocket launcher will not do multiple rockets or granades, making it a useless piece of crap. The rocket launcher is a little different now. It does one-shot shots on the primary fire and will do three-shot shots on the secondary fire. You can't fire more than 3 rockets at once. The lightning gun seems to be the new sniper rifle, if you can figure out how it works.

By the way, if you see a SniperKillerOSX on a server, that's me. I seem to be pathetic at this game so far.

Bjornbro
May 9th, 2003, 11:57 AM
Hi guys. I'm glad to see the reviews are good so far. I haven't had the chance to use it yet, are any of you using a two button mouse and does it work well (as in left button, primary fire and right button, secondary fire)? Is the "transloactor" included in this version?

Kosh
May 9th, 2003, 12:34 PM
I'm using a logitech scrollwheel mouse and both buttons work as well as the scrollwheel.

The translocator is in the demo as well. It seems to work well.

VertiGoGo
May 9th, 2003, 02:29 PM
Same as me Kosh. Two buttons and a scroll wheel and all is well.

Game action is great! I hate the lightning gun. It takes forever to kill people with those buggers.

I must say though...I hate the announcer guy. He sounds like a WWF announcer or a loud used car salesman. graemlins/ptptptptptpt.gif graemlins/rofl.gif

jfpoole
May 9th, 2003, 05:44 PM
The lightning gun can kill people with one shot (usually) if you manage to hit 'em in the head.

Otherwise it's a long, drawn out process.

VertiGoGo
May 9th, 2003, 08:30 PM
It's almost 7:30pm Ottawa time...anyone up for a round?

Will try the server. If no one there, I will create one called ehMac. The Password will be "ehMax."

CubaMark
May 10th, 2003, 12:23 AM
:mad:

AAAAGGGHHH!!!

Finally founda mirror that let me have a copy, took an hour to download (university LAN sucks the big one), burned it to a disk with a bunch of other stuff, get it home, and the UT2003 image file is the only one that won't open!

I've tried everything - different Macs, copying the file to the desktop before mounting, imaging the disk, etc., but nothing works.

Oh, I need a vacation.

:mad:
M

CubaMark
May 10th, 2003, 12:33 AM
Er.... *ahem* :confused: um... disregard that last post...

And take it from me, handling CDs after applying skin lotion is <u>not</u> recommended tongue.gif

(I just might be too tired to frag....)

:eek:
M

Havoc
May 10th, 2003, 02:16 PM
P4 2.4 (o/c 3.01 w/ liquid cooling,brrrr), 1Gig DDR, Audigy2, ATI 9700pro (tweaked), WD Drives...... Full graphics mode cranked, at 1600x1200 FPS=162/186

We can't wait to drop by.......

Chealion
May 10th, 2003, 07:36 PM
On my G4 800, (with ATI Radeon 7000 OEM), everything cranked, and set to 640x480 resolution, no lag except on slow servers. Runs very nice, and shows all the nice little things. On 800x600 it started to lag. Will post FPS once I play again tonite.

jfpoole
May 10th, 2003, 09:04 PM
Speaking of playing tonight, is there any interest in playing a couple of rounds?

Chealion
May 10th, 2003, 09:09 PM
I'm all for a round, but can anyone explain to me while on one of the maps (Anatalus) my average FPS is maybe 8 with fighting bots and 18 without compares to the other map where I get a steady 20 fps at the worst?

Chealion
May 10th, 2003, 10:05 PM
When is everyone going to be on, as I know my brother is enjoying himself on the server at the moment.

ehMax
May 10th, 2003, 10:25 PM
I'm up for getting killed a few rounds. Same IP as before?

Chealion
May 10th, 2003, 11:33 PM
Whee!! This game is so much fun, sorry I missed you jfpoole, but I finally got to match up against our illustrious mayor! Thx for the game! And once I turned down character detail to low and world detail from high to normal my FPS jumped up to a comfortable 30 across the board smile.gif

Kosh
May 12th, 2003, 12:15 PM
Duplicate post.

Kosh
May 12th, 2003, 12:16 PM
So how do you use that adrenaline that you collect? Maybe it'll help my gameplay.

The combo shot with the shock rifle seems to work good. The lightning gun makes a great sniper rifle and there seems to be some nice spots to snipe from in the outside map if you use the translocator.

Chealion
May 12th, 2003, 12:33 PM
Kosh - The adrenaline, is something very new, and the only two things I know of you can use with it are:
Beserk - forward twice then backward twice. Don't have a clue what it does, but you use it when your adrenaline reaches a 100 and it all drains away.
Speed - forward four times in a row quickly. Never used it yet, I guess it makes you move fast.

betelgeuse
May 12th, 2003, 05:01 PM
berserk increases fire rate.
you can regenerate by tapping back 4 times.
you can go invisible by tapping right right, left left (strafe)

smile.gif

Chealion
May 12th, 2003, 05:21 PM
betelgeuse - Wow, thanks... I feel so empowered :D Beware of Chealion now ;) graemlins/rofl.gif

Heart
May 12th, 2003, 09:11 PM
Good tips.....

ehMax
May 12th, 2003, 10:18 PM
Hey, I'm heading over to jfpoole's server for awhile in case anyone wants to frag a bit... ;)