: Reset iPhone before selling


winwintoo
Sep 17th, 2019, 10:54 AM
This morning I got a notice that somebody used my Apple ID to log on an iPhone 5c.

I donít have an iPhone 5c.

I did recently sell an iPhone 6+ and an iPad Pro.

Before I sold them I used the erase and reset feature. Should I have done something more to make sure all my stuff was off them?

pm-r
Sep 17th, 2019, 06:47 PM
Who did you get the email from and did you check it's full header for any proper Authentication????

If it did or didn't come from Apple, legit, you might want to give them a call and check your records of what info you have available online in your Apple ID account.


- Patrick
======

wonderings
Sep 18th, 2019, 11:19 AM
Who did you get the email from and did you check it's full header for any proper Authentication????

If it did or didn't come from Apple, legit, you might want to give them a call and check your records of what info you have available online in your Apple ID account.


- Patrick
======

+1

most likely it is spam. If not then someone gained access to your iCloud account and password. My vote is it not legit, I have received similar in the past, saying purchases were made with my account, and other things of that nature.

polywog
Sep 19th, 2019, 08:03 AM
You can log in to iCloud on the web, and in settings ,see any devices associated with your ID. You can also remove devices there.

Only thin I can think of is make sure Find my phone is disabled before the reset next time, though Im not sure you can do the reset with it engaged.

wonderings
Sep 19th, 2019, 12:54 PM
Only thin I can think of is make sure Find my phone is disabled before the reset next time, though Im not sure you can do the reset with it engaged.

You cannot do a reset with it engaged, find my phone has to be turned off first which requires the iCloud password.