: Airport Express utility problem


Jazzboy
Apr 3rd, 2018, 03:47 PM
My problem began when it seem my Apple Airport Express went into flashing yellow mode. Usually it's simply a matter of unplugging/replugging the unit, but when that didn't work today I did a hard reset of the unit (when I'm guessing I should have unplugged/replugged the modem). Anyway, I tried to reconfigure the unit with its utility, but I'm getting an error message saying my OS is incompatible. I went to CNET and downloaded what the site said was the most current version of the Airport Express utility, no dice. I am currently running High Sierra (10.13.3) on my nine-year-old iMac (3.06 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo/8megs of RAM.



Ideas, suggestions welcome.

John Clay
Apr 3rd, 2018, 04:55 PM
Are you using AirPort Utility in the Utilities folder on your computer? There's no such thing as AirPort Express Utility, and anything claiming to be such is probably malware.

AirPort Utility is not available as a separate download, and is bundled with macOS. You cannot download current versions from third party websites. The latest version, as of 10.13.4, is 6.3.8.

CubaMark
Apr 3rd, 2018, 05:27 PM
Are you using AirPort Utility in the Utilities folder on your computer? There's no such thing as AirPort Express Utility, and anything claiming to be such is probably malware.

Especially if coming from CNET, which in recent years has become a repository for software that isn't -quite-right. :mad:

AirPort Utility is not available as a separate download, and is bundled with macOS. You cannot download current versions from third party websites. The latest version, as of 10.13.4, is 6.3.8.

The flashing orange light usually means there's a firmware update available (I just recently did this with mine). As John says, check your Utilities folder.

EDIT: and now might be a good time to run both MalwareByte Anti-Malware for Mac (https://www.malwarebytes.com/mac/) (free) and ClamXav (https://www.clamxav.com/) (trial will be good enough for this occasion) since you downloaded and installed software from CNET.

pm-r
Apr 3rd, 2018, 07:19 PM
I went to CNET and downloaded what the site said was the most current version of the Airport Express utility

Do not download any software from CNET, and I'm sure that has been screamed at members here for ages now.

It can be like a venereal disease that just keeps on giving!! :mad:

I would reinforce CubaMark's recommendations as well.

You can download a legit copy of AirPort Utility here if you really need to:
https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/19858/airport-utility

and note that it's also OS X version dependent. Older versions available there as well.

DO NOT DOWNLOAD ANY OF THE MACUPDATE SOFTWARE, unless you really want or need it.


EDIT:
PS: I just realized that you are running High Sierra and I don't think there's a separate AirPort Utility download for it or Sierra. It's an all on nothing type thing I believe.
Don't ask me why, ask Apple!!!


- Patrick
======

Jazzboy
Apr 3rd, 2018, 08:14 PM
I do have the most recent version of AirPort utility. When I activate it I get a window with a the word Internet below a world globe, and the message says the utility can't find any configured AirPort base stations, but that it will keep on looking. However, the unit is working (it's why I can send this message) but I can't configure it (give it a name/password).

pm-r
Apr 3rd, 2018, 11:17 PM
the message says the utility can't find any configured AirPort base stations,


Welcome to yet another often non-working OS X feature with Sierra and High Sierra it seems with a quick search on the web according to this search:
High Sierra AirPort Utility can't find Apple Airport Express
https://www.google.ca/search?client=safari&rls=en&q=High+Sierra+AirPort+Utility+can't+find+Apple+Air port+Express&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&gfe_rd=cr&dcr=0&ei=LzPEWsWOCsne8AemhIJw

Maybe you can find a fix or solution among the hits.

I'd try shutting everything down and leave them all off for at least 5 - 30 minutes, including: computer, router, Airport.
Then turn each one On, let it get established and then the next from the first connected router in order and the computer last.

Just maybe things might start working normally.

PS: do you have any other Mac you could try using and its AirPort Utility???



- Patrick
======

TiltAgain
Apr 4th, 2018, 02:31 AM
I do have the most recent version of AirPort utility. When I activate it I get a window with a the word Internet below a world globe, and the message says the utility can't find any configured AirPort base stations, but that it will keep on looking. However, the unit is working (it's why I can send this message) but I can't configure it (give it a name/password).

Try this:

Above the globe to the Left you'll find a button "Other Wi-Fi Devices". Click that and see if that finds your Airport Express; and if it does, configure it from scratch.

If that does not find the router, then I have no idea what to do other than search online for solutions.

Good luck.

Cheers

SINC
Apr 4th, 2018, 05:09 AM
For the record, I am running 10.13.4 HS and using two Airport Extremes, one in the house and one in the garage as well as an Airport Express in the motor home each about 75 feet away from a Telus router. All work perfectly. You might want to install the latest update for the OS to see if that might solve your issue.

polywog
Apr 4th, 2018, 08:40 AM
Ideas, suggestions welcome.

If you have an iDevice, you can download the Airport utility for it, and give that a go? It's pretty much the only way I've been managing my Apple network gear for a couple of years, so I can't even speculate why the desktop utility is not working.

pm-r
Apr 4th, 2018, 01:15 PM
error message saying my OS is incompatible.


BTW:
What version of AirPort Utility do you currently have installed?

If it's not the version that came with macOS HS, do you have a backup with the original HS install?

Which Apple Airport Express model is it?

Did it work before installing High Sierra?

Do you have another Mac or iDevice you could try using or even a friend or neighbour who could help and see if they can at least see the Apple Airport Express?

PS: a note from apple:
If one of your network devices isn't compatible with the updated firmware, you might be able to reinstall older firmware. On Mac, click the base station in AirPort Utility, then Option-click the firmware version number. On iOS devices, tap the base station in AirPort Utility, then go to Version > Older Versions.
https://support.apple.com/en-ca/HT201519

PPS: then Option-click the firmware version number.
The option key must be used, a right-click probably won't work.

Good luck.


- Patrick
======

dtaylor
Apr 4th, 2018, 01:33 PM
I'm guessing that your Airport Express is an older model?

The new(er) Airport Utilities have orphaned the older Airports, and the newer OS has orphaned the older Airport Utility that configures them.

This person has solved the catch-22 with a script that launches the old Airport Utility:

https://zcs.zyniker.org/airport-utility-v5-6-1/

It works very well, and with High Sierra. I use it to maintain an old Airport Extreme Snow and a 1st-gen Express.

pm-r
Apr 4th, 2018, 04:00 PM
The new(er) Airport Utilities have orphaned the older Airports, and the newer OS has orphaned the older Airport Utility that configures them.


Thanks for the info and it's unfortunate that Apple is taking their chosen route of non-support and pissing off a lot of users regarding their older wireless router stuff. But luckily there are the hackers that can fulfill or fix the problem.

More than a few articles written concerning the situation including:
Why now is not the time to jump ship on Apple’s Airport and Time Capsule
https://arstechnica.com/civis/viewtopic.php?f=19&t=1370753

Why is Apple abandoning the AirPort Extreme, AirPort Express and AirPort Time Capsule?
https://www.cio.com/article/3143606/consumer-electronics/why-is-apple-abandoning-the-airport-extreme-airport-express-and-airport-time-capsule.html

But at least some providing some life for light wireless work:
Cheap wireless speakers: How to configure an original AirPort Express (A1084) on macOS High Sierra
https://medium.com/@gohnjanotis/how-to-configure-an-original-airport-express-a1084-on-macos-sierra-or-how-you-can-have-cheap-f96266582334

Oh well… Apple's not gonna change… :-(



- Patrick
======

Jazzboy
Apr 8th, 2018, 03:27 AM
Thanks to everyone who took the time to reply to my cry for help, but in the end, and after spending more than an hour on the phone with a patient Apple tech it became clear that there was no resurrecting my first-gen AirPort (they couldn't even find the serial number in their database). So I went down to London Drugs, bought a new one for $130 and Bob's yer uncle. Since we got more than 12 years out of the old unit I don't feel too hard done by. Thanks again, all.