: Stupid Audio question


screature
Oct 27th, 2016, 04:03 PM
How do you record audio from a newish iMac (2014) using the built in mic?

CubaMark
Oct 27th, 2016, 04:15 PM
Is this a software or hardware or configuration question?

You can do rough-and-ready audio / video recordings with QuickTime... and a number of other free/paid apps....

What are you trying to do?

screature
Oct 27th, 2016, 04:25 PM
Is this a software or hardware or configuration question?

You can do rough-and-ready audio / video recordings with QuickTime... and a number of other free/paid apps....

What are you trying to do?

Hi Mark,

Just trying to record my voice in any modern audio format using the iMac's (2014) built in speaker. This is my first iMac and I don't know how to do it. With my old MacPro I had software and a mic so I knew how to do it with that old equipment. Feeling a little bit out of date and stupid right now.

Thanks in advance for any help that you can provide to an out of touch old school guy like me. :)

wonderings
Oct 27th, 2016, 04:27 PM
GarageBand should do it no problem.

Just downloaded GarageBand to test:
http://i80.photobucket.com/albums/j164/wonderings/Screen%20Shot%202016-10-27%20at%203.33.47%20PM_zpsi90gyxjh.png (http://s80.photobucket.com/user/wonderings/media/Screen%20Shot%202016-10-27%20at%203.33.47%20PM_zpsi90gyxjh.png.html)

GarageBand on my 5K iMac started using the built in Mic by default. I have no other microphones and have never used any before so should be the same for you.
http://i80.photobucket.com/albums/j164/wonderings/Screen%20Shot%202016-10-27%20at%203.34.06%20PM_zps3ixdjhbq.png (http://s80.photobucket.com/user/wonderings/media/Screen%20Shot%202016-10-27%20at%203.34.06%20PM_zps3ixdjhbq.png.html)

screature
Oct 27th, 2016, 04:43 PM
Thanks, I have Garage Band as it comes with the iMac so no need to download. I will give it a shot.

All the best.

Steve

CubaMark
Oct 27th, 2016, 04:47 PM
Just trying to record my voice in any modern audio format using the iMac's (2014) built in speaker. This is my first iMac and I don't know how to do it. With my old MacPro I had software and a mic

Just fire up QuickTime and choose FILE--> New Audio Recording.

The LED levels will jump with the sound of your voice. Drag the controller larger to see this more clearly.

Input can be set in Sound prefs, but if you're just using the built-in mic, that should already be the default.

:)

M

screature
Oct 27th, 2016, 04:50 PM
Just fire up QuickTime and choose FILE--> New Audio Recording.

The LED levels will jump with the sound of your voice. Drag the controller larger to see this more clearly.

Input can be set in Sound prefs, but if you're just using the built-in mic, that should already be the default.

:)

M

Thanks Mark!

screature
Oct 27th, 2016, 06:19 PM
GarageBand should do it no problem.

Just downloaded GarageBand to test:
http://i80.photobucket.com/albums/j164/wonderings/Screen%20Shot%202016-10-27%20at%203.33.47%20PM_zpsi90gyxjh.png (http://s80.photobucket.com/user/wonderings/media/Screen%20Shot%202016-10-27%20at%203.33.47%20PM_zpsi90gyxjh.png.html)

GarageBand on my 5K iMac started using the built in Mic by default. I have no other microphones and have never used any before so should be the same for you.
http://i80.photobucket.com/albums/j164/wonderings/Screen%20Shot%202016-10-27%20at%203.34.06%20PM_zps3ixdjhbq.png (http://s80.photobucket.com/user/wonderings/media/Screen%20Shot%202016-10-27%20at%203.34.06%20PM_zps3ixdjhbq.png.html)

Thanks wonderings, even though GarageBand was already installed I had to download an update. Great advice!

Thanks,

Steve

wonderings
Oct 28th, 2016, 05:29 PM
Thanks wonderings, even though GarageBand was already installed I had to download an update. Great advice!

Thanks,

Steve

GarageBand should give you more control, though probably more complicated then the quicktime solution. Have to say, I had completely forgotten about QuickTime, don't think I have ever opened it on my iMac.

CubaMark
Oct 28th, 2016, 10:41 PM
...I had completely forgotten about QuickTime, don't think I have ever opened it on my iMac.

The last time anyone at Apple actually talked about QuickTime (might have been Steve?) they made a big deal out of it's ability to record your screen.

YouTube has several tutorials / guides to doing screen recordings (with / without audio too!). Here's one:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TidEkPsiXzA

.
Also, for those who may find it useful, QuickTime 7 Pro (https://support.apple.com/kb/DL923?locale=en_CA) is still available for download from Apple, and is compatible with Sierra (YMMV. Some folks are having isolated issues. Apple no longer updating, so it will likely die at some point). NOTE that if you've never purchased QTPro and/or if you've lost your registration code, you won't be able to access the Pro features (and Apple no longer sells it).

I find it super useful for quick edits to video files (.mov or .mp4/.mpv). Great for trimming the heads / tails of those videos of your kids to cut off the part where you're cajoling them to look at the damn camera... ;)

macintosh doctor
Oct 29th, 2016, 12:26 PM
How do you record audio from a newish iMac (2014) using the built in mic?

i do everything on my iphone, with voice record it comes with the iphone then you can email , text, or sync with itunes to get the file.