: iOmega Hard drive upgrade ...


AquaAngel
Jun 13th, 2016, 05:05 PM
just wondering if there is a way to find out how big of hard drive i can put in that bad boy

http://ak1.ostkcdn.com/images/products/etilize/images/300/1010257118.jpg

Model number is HDD2H

i just got a iOmega ext hard drive few days ago and 2x500gb hdd in it. sadly enough, one of the drive failed"not impressed".

So i just slapped 2X1Tb Hdd in there and my macpro sees it as a 2tb.

i was wondering how big of a Hard drives can i put in it. can i put 2X2tb? 2X4tb?

thanks

gwillikers
Jun 14th, 2016, 03:10 AM
I'd think you could go with 2x2 TB drives. Judging from the link below nearly all of their drives in 2009 were available in 2 TB capacities. I'd be very surprised if the controller in your drive case would be limited to 1 TB.

It's hard to find much info on those external drives. When iOmega closed up shop, they really closed up shop.

http://www.cclonline.com/content/pdfs/aisebvqtuu6xncizk1tsua-3d-3d.pdf

AquaAngel
Jun 14th, 2016, 10:23 AM
I'd think you could go with 2x2 TB drives. Judging from the link below nearly all of their drives in 2009 were available in 2 TB capacities. I'd be very surprised if the controller in your drive case would be limited to 1 TB.

It's hard to find much info on those external drives. When iOmega closed up shop, they really closed up shop.

http://www.cclonline.com/content/pdfs/aisebvqtuu6xncizk1tsua-3d-3d.pdf

Nice, cause i was looking all over the place to see how far i can increase the storage in it and ended up with no results.

So far i put 2x1 tb for a total of 2tb. it is working, but if i can put 2x2tb? it would be even better