: Upgrading to Panther from OS9


GratuitousApplesauce
Aug 26th, 2004, 09:40 PM
So I'm going to be installing Panther on my friend's 2(?) year old CRT iMac. (I think it's about 2 years, I remember he bought it about a week before they came out with the LCD iMacs.)

I'm not exactly a technical wizard and he's even less so, kind of the blind leading the blind. http://deephousepage.com/smilies/1syellow1.gif

He's upgrading from OS9. His iMac came with the pre-Jaguar OSX on it, but he's never used it.

Would anybody recommend initializing the HD and installing Panther, as well as re-installing OS9, on the clean drive, or should everything work OK if I just install Panther onto what he's got?

I'd kind of prefer to do it the second way, because it would be far less work for us, not having to copy all his stuff over to another drive.

monokitty
Aug 26th, 2004, 09:57 PM
or should everything work OK if I just install Panther onto what he's got?Many will argue otherwise, but I say this is the way to go. Insert Panther CD and do a straight off install. Some techs will say, "Might have data corruption, might this, might that, might whatever," blah, blah - everytime you install any OS, there's always a risk, and the chances of corrupting anything by doing a straight install are far and few. I always do a straight install for my iMac DV and have yet to have a problem. Just make sure the iMacs' firmware is up-to-date (4.1.9f).

You won't lose your files or OS 9 by doing it this way. And screw partitions-- some people claim you need them - you don't. Of th e 4 Macs in our house, not one has a partition are all running both OS's - 3 of the 4 are dual-boot machines.,

The Doug
Aug 26th, 2004, 10:04 PM
If it hasn't already been done, make sure you update the firmware before installing Panther otherwise you will ruin the video. See the article on the Apple website here (http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=86117); there are discussion threads in the Forums too.

Boomer
Aug 26th, 2004, 10:24 PM
Maybe a silly question, but how do you know if the firmware has already been updated? Is there some version # to check somewhere?

Boomer

The Doug
Aug 26th, 2004, 10:30 PM
In OS 9, run System Profiler and look for the Boot Rom Version and compare it to those listed on the Apple link posted above.

In OS X, select About This Mac, click "More Info", and look for the Boot Rom Version.

MacDoc
Aug 26th, 2004, 10:40 PM
IN OS9!!!!!

If he's in X he's either...
a) about to kiss his iMac goodbye ( it works for one boot )
b) the firmware is fine

You are looking for 4.1.9

get it here

http://www.versiontracker.com/dyn/moreinfo/macos/342

You can just run it and it will tell you if you need it.
:cool:

GratuitousApplesauce
Aug 26th, 2004, 11:20 PM
Thanks for all the sage advice, fellers! http://deephousepage.com/smilies/1syellow1.gif

And thanks MacDoc for the PM with the firmware warning. I'll be sure to not fry my friends iMac.