: 'cube' style user change in panther sporadic


rollee
Feb 13th, 2004, 11:57 AM
i really like that cute 'cube' style desktop change in panther, but somehow i can only get it working part of the time.
i am wondering if i might be missing on a stroke or something? or is it because my cube G4 450/nVidia 32mb is not enough to handle this quartz extreme movement, cause when it works, most of my apps are not running. anyone?

avalonian
Feb 13th, 2004, 10:54 PM
Same thing happens to me on my single 1.25 MDD, 64MB VRAM.
I always wondered.

rollee
Feb 14th, 2004, 12:04 AM
thanks for the feedback, if your G4 1.25 also does that, then the problem might not be because of my slower G4 450 processor.
i checked the apple dicussions forum and people report of difference in monitor settings could affect the 'cube' effect, but my settings are the same.

monokitty
Feb 14th, 2004, 03:27 PM
For what it's worth, our Power Mac G5 1.6 GHz with Radeon 9600 Pro also doesn't always show the effect, either. I think it's a Mac OS X problem more than anything.

SINC
Feb 14th, 2004, 04:32 PM
The effect is "on again, off again" on both my 700 Mhz eMac and my 1 Ghz Al Powerbook, so the Panther related theory makes sense.

Cheers

smile.gif

rollee
Feb 15th, 2004, 02:21 AM
that is not very good news. i hope apple will come out with a fix patch on thier next update.
this 'cube' user switch is one cool gimmick to show off my mac to pc people, but if it does not work 100% of the time.....