: how to change the iCal icon default date?

Ravindra Mohabeer
Feb 10th, 2004, 11:51 PM
I'm not sure if this was asked already...sorry if it was.

I'm still fairly new to OS X but something I've noticed that I'd like to do something about is the default date on the iCal icon.

If you haven't noticed, the default date on the icon is July 17 (? - figures, it's not on now so I don't remember the exact date). Once you click on your calendar, the rest of your working session, the date is today's date. The next time you boot up or restart, back to the default date until iCal is launched again.

Is there a way to either change the default date in the icon or have it always show today's date before the icon is touched?

I know, it's a small thing, but something that I'd like to 'fix' if it's fixable.

ehMax
Feb 11th, 2004, 12:30 AM
smile.gif

I've wondered the same thing actually. As far as I can tell, there is not a way to do this. You can edit the hidden ical.icns file to show a different default date, but you still have to launch it for it to change.

I wish it would show the correct date dynamically too. Send some feedback to Apple on iCal (http://www.apple.com/feedback/ical.html). smile.gif

ehMax
Feb 11th, 2004, 12:31 AM
Oh yes.. ps. July 17th was the day that iCal was initially released. ;)

Ravindra Mohabeer
Feb 11th, 2004, 11:58 AM
thanks. I figured as much. I sent feedback...who knows if/where that goes.

gordguide
Feb 11th, 2004, 12:27 PM
The date on the iCal application is just an image; an application icon, like any application's icon.

If you want to change it you can, just like you can change any icon on your Mac. But, you would have to change it every day if you want it to reflect today's date; it's a graphic stored as part of the application.

While iCal is running it becomes an active icon as part of Quartz's rendering engine, but there's no way to have every icon on your system update dynamically with programs that aren't running.