ehMac.ca

ehMac.ca (http://www.ehmac.ca/index.php)
-   All iOS - iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, Apple TV & iTunes (http://www.ehmac.ca/forumdisplay.php?f=13)
-   -   iPhone OS 3.0 Preview March 17 (http://www.ehmac.ca/showthread.php?t=74826)

kevleviathan Mar 12th, 2009 02:15 PM

iPhone OS 3.0 Preview March 17
 
iPhone OS 3.0 is coming, preview on March 17th

"We just got the announcement, iPhone OS 3.0 is coming. Set your clocks, mark your calendars. It's going down March 17th. Apparently, we'll get a sneak peak at the new OS, as well as a look at a brand new version of the SDK."

So OS 3.0 is coming and we still don't have copy/paste or push notifications? ;)

i-rui Mar 12th, 2009 07:25 PM

yay!

kloan Mar 12th, 2009 07:26 PM

28 Attachment(s)
I really hope they're doing something different... the UI is getting a little dated.

Adrian. Mar 13th, 2009 07:52 AM

Quote:

The iPhone is set to get a face lift. Apple will show off a new version of the iPhone operating system, iPhone 3.0, on March 17, along with a new version of the phone's software development kit.

While details are scanty, iPhone 3.0 could include features such as universal search, multimedia messaging and an updated user interface.

Apple will unveil the new OS and SDK at a media event for reporters and bloggers at Apple's Cupertino, California, campus at 10 a.m. Pacific time next Tuesday.

"In the past two weeks Apple has introduced new Mac hardware and a new iPod shuffle, for which the company simply issued a press release," Piper Jaffray analyst Gene Munster says in a note. "The fact that Apple is hosting an event for the iPhone OS 3.0 shows that it will likely involve meaningful changes to the iPhone feature set."

The software preview event could also be a sign that an iPhone refresh is coming this summer. Version 2.0, the last big upgrade to the iPhone OS, was released in July last year, along with the new iPhone 3G.

Apple CEO Steve Jobs will likely be a no-show at the company's event, but Apple won't let that hold it back. In January, Jobs said he will take five months off for medical leave. In his place, it's possible that marketing head Phil Schiller, who keynoted at Macworld, will lead the event; iPhone software chief Scott Forstall is also a likely candidate.

Some bloggers and analysts have been suggesting that Apple will launch a new version of the iPhone at its Worldwide Developers Conference (WWDC) in June. But new hardware will require an updated SDK and possibly a new version of the operating system. Those speculations align well with Apple's planned event next week.

Among the features that users can expect with the new iPhone OS are multimedia messaging and tethering via Bluetooth and USB, according to the Boy Genius Report. Universal search and a redesigned user interface are also possible, says Piper Jaffray's Munster.

Palm, which is set to release the Palm Pre phone in the next few months, will have universal search as one of its significant features. Universal search allows users to look through the contacts, e-mails and documents on their phone as well as search the internet with a single search string.

Apple's last enhancement to the iPhone software came in November 2008, when it offered Version 2.2. The update offered features such as Google Street Views, improvements to e-mail, and measures to reduce dropped calls.
Apple to Preview iPhone 3.0 Next Week | Gadget Lab from Wired.com

kloan Mar 14th, 2009 02:39 AM

28 Attachment(s)
Man, if they can finally fix all the hardware defects and bugs in the iPhone and completely revamp the UI to heighten the user experience... they'll win me back for sure.

Apple never fails to innovate, so I'm sure they've got something nice in store for us consumers... though I still have my fingers crossed.. they have let me down before. :)

I'd actually love to see an all aluminum iPhone with slightly curved/beveled edges much like the MBA, only no sharp corners, with a polished Apple logo on the back, polished buttons... yeah, I think that would look hot. :D

cchaynes Mar 15th, 2009 09:05 PM

i want java and a citrix client, if they can do that i am happy

there are some weird functionality gaps on it for sure, i would imagine some of them will now close

we shall see

chas_m Mar 15th, 2009 09:17 PM

Kevin Rose says THIS time we get copy and paste (in a rather innovative way, if he's right).

It hasn't been a big deal to me, but I can see where it's handy. As for bugs, I'm sure there are some, but I'm not encountering them. The iPhone is pure fun for me (and now, thanks to ScreenSplitr and Remote, a powerful demonstration tool!)

My guess is Scott Forstall will lead the presentation. He's very good, I would not be at all surprised to see him leading the company someday, or at least be the "public face" of Apple at some point. I think Steve has a few years left at Apple, but he will leave at some point.

lewdvig Mar 15th, 2009 10:02 PM

They'll read the release notes, should be a quick event.

"Bug fixes and stability enhancements.'

The end.

lewdvig Mar 15th, 2009 10:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kloan (Post 797792)
Man, if they can finally fix all the hardware defects and bugs in the iPhone and completely revamp the UI to heighten the user experience... they'll win me back for sure.

Apple never fails to innovate, so I'm sure they've got something nice in store for us consumers... though I still have my fingers crossed.. they have let me down before. :)

I'd actually love to see an all aluminum iPhone with slightly curved/beveled edges much like the MBA, only no sharp corners, with a polished Apple logo on the back, polished buttons... yeah, I think that would look hot. :D

I've owned both a first gen and a 3G (even though I keep it on EDGE so that the battery lasts a few days instead of barely one). No complaints here. Best phone I've ever owned. I use mine every day for work.

There isn't much I would add except tightening up the UI in a few places (multiple delete).

Sniper4u Mar 15th, 2009 11:02 PM

[QUOTE=kloan;797792]Man, if they can finally fix all the hardware defects and bugs in the iPhone and completely revamp the UI to heighten the user experience... they'll win me back for sure.

It sounds like you're describing a windows mobile phone saying that. LOL. :lmao:


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:13 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999 - 2012, ehMac.ca All rights reserved. ehMac is not affiliated with Apple Inc. Mac, iPod, iTunes, iPhone, Apple TV are trademarks of Apple Inc.