Using Yahoo! Mail in Mac's Mail - ehMac.ca
Facebook
Twitter
YouTube
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 4th, 2012, 05:33 PM   #1
Full Citizen
 
mgmitchell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: ON
Posts: 559
Send a message via Skype™ to mgmitchell
Using Yahoo! Mail in Mac's Mail

"The yahoo.ca IMAP server “imap.mail.yahoo.com” rejected the password for user (my email address)" ...

WTH does this mean?
Ever since I added Yahoo! Mail to my Mail account, it always pops up and makes enter my password. How do I get it to end, please?
Thanks.
/Michael.
mgmitchell is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old May 6th, 2012, 11:53 AM   #2
Honourable Citizen
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: toronto
Posts: 1,066
unfortunately this kind of thing can happen sometimes. i get it with my sympatico account from time to time, and usually just respond by hitting cancel and then taking the account back on line after a couple minutes which usually works. there are a bunch of posts out there like this one:
https://discussions.apple.com/thread...art=0&tstart=0
one thing to try is deleting the password in your keychain and then launch mail and enter it fresh when you get prompted. you can also try changing the frequency of how often mail looks for new emails, sometimes having it do the 'every minute' check can create problems.
good luck!
__________________
27" iMac 2.8GHz Core i7, MacBook 2.0GHz Core Duo, iPhone 3G, Airport Extreme
mkolesa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2012, 05:03 PM   #3
Full Citizen
 
mcoltezo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario
Posts: 333
I've had it happen a few times. It tells me I'm using the wrong password. I'm not but I'll the message a few times in a row as I try it again and again. Then the next time it works. This is all in one session of trying to log in to mail.

it's annoying.
__________________
Systems:
MBP 2.66 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo, OS Snow Leopard, FCS
G5 dual 2.0 Ghz, OS Tiger, FCS (contemplating the closet )
G4 dual 500 hz, OS Panther, FCE2 (sitting in closet )
(and IBM laptop...but don't tell) (dead screen )
mcoltezo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2012, 09:44 PM   #4
Full Citizen
 
mgmitchell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: ON
Posts: 559
Send a message via Skype™ to mgmitchell
If I drop Yahoo! from my Apple Mail option, does it still show up on my iPad and iTouch? Or are they linked to the Mail account on the Mac?
/M.
mgmitchell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mail Help - Rogers yahoo integration? cchaynes Anything Mac 1 Jan 7th, 2009 09:41 PM
Problem with Mail.app and Yahoo Mail cheew Anything Mac 6 Jan 3rd, 2009 06:51 PM
Yahoo Mail now works on Safari cchaynes Anything Mac 2 Nov 4th, 2007 05:28 PM
Yahoo! mail messed up? thewitt Anything Mac 5 Sep 4th, 2004 09:53 PM
Yahoo! Mail upgraded TroutMaskReplica Anything Mac 19 Jun 17th, 2004 09:04 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:58 AM.



Copyright © 1999 - 2012, ehMac.ca All rights reserved. ehMac is not affiliated with Apple Inc. Mac, iPod, iTunes, iPhone, Apple TV are trademarks of Apple Inc. Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2

Tribe.ca: Urban living in Toronto!