Can You See This Website With Safari? - Page 5 - ehMac.ca
Facebook
Twitter
YouTube
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Apr 28th, 2012, 05:48 PM   #41
Honourable Citizen
 
pm-r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brentwood Bay BC
Posts: 8,364
Quote:
Originally Posted by SINC View Post
Well, well, well, it's a miracle. All is fixed. I quit for a while then reinstalled Flash, Java runtime and then zapped Safari with AppZapper, downloaded a fresh copy and reinstalled Safari. I did that several times over the last couple of days with no success. Difference this time is I used AppZapper and got rid of everything. Incredible, but am I ever glad that is over.

Thanks for all the suggestions guys, they were appreciated.
... ...
Glad to hear and I'm glad you didn't waste your time using your Time Machine backup to re-install as there's a good chance it was corrupted as well.

On advantage to having and using a CCC backup, as it's bootable unlike Time Machine and a quick boot from it would show if everything was or was not working before doing any time wasting re-installs.

PS: Thanks for the incredible "Top Secret Drum Corps" video at your site.
pm-r is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old Apr 28th, 2012, 05:48 PM   #42
Resident Curmudgeon
 
SINC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Central Alberta
Posts: 68,762
Send a message via AIM to SINC
Quote:
Originally Posted by kps View Post
No offence SINC, but I think it'll be quicker just to launch Firefox if a similar issue arrises in the future....
None taken, but I do not have much use for FF. I much prefer Camino, which is what I was using during the episode.

Besides, I like ALL my browsers to work properly and it bugs me until I get them fixed and running right..
__________________
Visit my website:
St. Albert's Place On The Web
(Over 1.7 million folks have.)
SINC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28th, 2012, 05:51 PM   #43
Resident Curmudgeon
 
SINC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Central Alberta
Posts: 68,762
Send a message via AIM to SINC
Quote:
Originally Posted by pm-r View Post
Glad to hear and I'm glad you didn't waste your time using your Time Machine backup to re-install as there's a good chance it was corrupted as well.

On advantage to having and using a CCC backup, as it's bootable unlike Time Machine and a quick boot from it would show if everything was or was not working before doing any time wasting re-installs.

PS: Thanks for the incredible "Top Secret Drum Corps" video at your site.
You're most welcome. I keep two daily clones on two separate externals, one in CCC and one in SD besides the TM backup. I take no chances.
__________________
Visit my website:
St. Albert's Place On The Web
(Over 1.7 million folks have.)
SINC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28th, 2012, 06:49 PM   #44
Honourable Citizen
 
fjnmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sherwood Park, AB
Posts: 7,122
Glad there's a happy ending. When I encountered a similar problem recently with images not displaying on my wife's MacBook, I ante'd up and paid the $59 fee to Apple's tech phone diagnostics only to find out within about ten seconds there was a "display images" box unchecked in preferences. The guy on the line felt so bad he waived the fee. God bless Apple. Most of the time.
__________________
"I am disappointed and deeply concerned that there is no objective evidence to support my position. So far."
- Spock 

His: Intel iMac 20" 2.16 / Macbook 2.1 GHz / 8GB iPod Nano / 2GB iPod Nano / iPod Touch / iPhone 3GS / iPhone 4S
Hers: Macbook 2.1 GHz / 4GB iPod Nano / iPhone 4
Kid 1: 4GB iPod Nano / iPad 16WiFi
Kid 2: 4GB iPod Nano/ iPad 16WiFi
Family: iPod Touch / Apple Extreme Router 802.11n / Two Apple Express's w/Airtunes /Two Apple TV's 40GB / Apple TV 2
fjnmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28th, 2012, 07:19 PM   #45
Honourable Citizen
 
pm-r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brentwood Bay BC
Posts: 8,364
Quote:
Originally Posted by SINC View Post
You're most welcome. I keep two daily clones on two separate externals, one in CCC and one in SD besides the TM backup. I take no chances.
All well and good as for user data, but a PITA when to OS and its associated files get mucked up, and recovery is almost like the old "Button-button- who's got the button" game as to which clone version actually worked.

At least a "nuke and pave" can be used when the OS is FUBAR and then hope and pray the Migration Assistant works properly.

It's interesting that AppZapper and the re-installs worked and I'm sure you're grateful that they did.
pm-r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28th, 2012, 07:52 PM   #46
Resident Curmudgeon
 
SINC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Central Alberta
Posts: 68,762
Send a message via AIM to SINC
Quote:
Originally Posted by pm-r View Post
All well and good as for user data, but a PITA when to OS and its associated files get mucked up, and recovery is almost like the old "Button-button- who's got the button" game as to which clone version actually worked.

At least a "nuke and pave" can be used when the OS is FUBAR and then hope and pray the Migration Assistant works properly.

It's interesting that AppZapper and the re-installs worked and I'm sure you're grateful that they did.
Actually, BOTH clones work and boot perfectly and are tested every other day. The reason I use two different programs is to lessen the chance that one may fail. One cannot be well enough prepared.
__________________
Visit my website:
St. Albert's Place On The Web
(Over 1.7 million folks have.)
SINC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28th, 2012, 08:18 PM   #47
Honourable Citizen
 
pm-r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brentwood Bay BC
Posts: 8,364
Quote:
Originally Posted by SINC View Post
Actually, BOTH clones work and boot perfectly and are tested every other day. The reason I use two different programs is to lessen the chance that one may fail. One cannot be well enough prepared.

Just curious, but if you booted from your CCC or SD backup clones and if everything worked, including avoiding your latest problem, why you didn't just clone the working version back to your normal boot volume???? Or am I missing something???
pm-r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28th, 2012, 09:54 PM   #48
Resident Curmudgeon
 
SINC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Central Alberta
Posts: 68,762
Send a message via AIM to SINC
If I booted from either clone, both of them failed as well (I update them daily and they contained the same bug as the MPB HD). It took me two days before I realized there was an issue and by then, the clones were done and identical to the HD on the MBP. Simple as that. Even when I tried to restore the Safari app from TM, it too showed the same isse using files from two weeks ago, long before the issue began. I presume that was picked up the minute the old Safari app hit the MBP HD since it only restored the app and not the support files.

Who knows for sure. I am no guru, I just try to take things as they come. I am also tenacious and relentless in pursuing a problem until I beat it, either with the help of the board or by my own hand.
__________________
Visit my website:
St. Albert's Place On The Web
(Over 1.7 million folks have.)
SINC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac OS Leopard + Safari = Beach party Pat McCrotch Mac, iPhone, iPad and iPod Help & Troubleshooting 22 Oct 28th, 2011 06:58 PM
Suggested Font & Size for Safari web browsing??? pm-r Mac, iPhone, iPad and iPod Help & Troubleshooting 16 Apr 24th, 2011 07:26 PM
iTunes To Merge With Safari? Be A Web-Only App? SINC All iOS - iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, Apple TV & iTunes 12 Jan 20th, 2011 10:30 AM
Safari 3.1 (( p g )) Anything Mac 41 Mar 20th, 2008 02:53 PM
Website consistently crashes Safari 2.x Macaholic Mac, iPhone, iPad and iPod Help & Troubleshooting 6 Jun 28th, 2007 01:45 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:53 PM.



Copyright 1999 - 2012, ehMac.ca All rights reserved. ehMac is not affiliated with Apple Inc. Mac, iPod, iTunes, iPhone, Apple TV are trademarks of Apple Inc. Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2

Tribe.ca: Urban living in Toronto!