Where can I get IE - ehMac.ca
Facebook
Twitter
YouTube
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Apr 27th, 2012, 12:47 PM   #1
Full Citizen
 
jimwww's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 113
Send a message via AIM to jimwww
Question Where can I get IE

Hi Guys,
I am on a 2009 Mac Pro Tower 8 core and need to use IE specifically couple times a week. Most of the links in google go to weird stuff. Where can I get the last version - not running virtual machine on this.
__________________
www.jimwww.com
Mac Pro tower 8 core, 3.0 ghz, 10Gb Ram;
MacBook Pro 2012, i5, duo-core 2.5ghz, 16gb ram, 500gb hd
jimwww is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old Apr 27th, 2012, 12:56 PM   #2
IAMSTIG
 
Andrew Pratt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,595
You can't run IE on a Mac outside a virtual machine or boot camp. There was an OLD version of IE for mac but i'm not sure that still works anymore...esp in Lion.

Are you sure you need IE? You can change the user agent in Safari to mimic IE and that sometimes works or try FireFox or Chrome.

If you really do need IE then you'll either have to install Windows (either virtual or Bootcamp), use remote desktop to connect to a windows box or buy a cheap windows machine and use that.

Another alternative is to use IE6 in Crossover
Andrew Pratt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27th, 2012, 02:58 PM   #3
Bald by choice
 
jamesB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: The big island west of Vancouver
Posts: 9,055
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimwww View Post
Hi Guys,
I am on a 2009 Mac Pro Tower 8 core and need to use IE specifically couple times a week. Most of the links in google go to weird stuff. Where can I get the last version - not running virtual machine on this.
Here is a link,
hasn't been updated since 2003 and is for PPC Macs only.
__________________
"I would never want to be a member of a group whose symbol is a man nailed to two pieces of wood"
-George Carlin
jamesB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27th, 2012, 02:59 PM   #4
Resident Curmudgeon
 
SINC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Central Alberta
Posts: 68,075
Send a message via AIM to SINC
Your post got me to thinking that I might just have a copy of IE 5.2 for the Mac and sure enough, I still have one. If you have the software to run it, you can download it from my DropBox files here:

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/46939750/Int...orer%205.2.zip
__________________
Visit my website:
St. Albert's Place On The Web
(Over 1.6 million folks have.)
SINC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27th, 2012, 04:47 PM   #5
Honourable Citizen
 
dona83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 6,413
Send a message via AIM to dona83
You can run it on Snow Leopard through Rosetta.
__________________
2009 iMac 20", iPhone 4S for the wife and I, too many iPads

Are you backed up??? If so, why? Psyllium Fibre is not free but will do wonders!
dona83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27th, 2012, 05:14 PM   #6
Honourable Citizen
 
macintosh doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Where royalty live and horses roam freely
Posts: 3,370
try opera, sometimes that works for me
__________________
Apple MacBook Pro 13" Retina 2.6GHZ i5 16GBs/512SSD/128GB Flash storage Storedge
Apple Thunderbolt display 27", K750 Solar Keyboard
Logitech Wireless Trackball M570
LaCie Stark 1TB for time machine, Apple Track Pad
Moshi Keyboard cover ( to catch the drool when surfing rumor sites )
Government jobs / work places : it smells like wet dogs, so do some people that work there. Everyone moves like they were injured!, It's like a low budget rehab centre
macintosh doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27th, 2012, 06:18 PM   #7
Retired Mayor of ehMac
 
ehMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: ehMac World Headquarters
Posts: 10,150
Send a message via AIM to ehMax
You can also use Safari's "Developer" mode to trick websites into thinking you are running IE, and in many cases that works fine.

There's a couple of distributor websites that insist on being browsed from IE. I use that method, and than the website works fine.

To use the developer mode, go to Safari Preferences --> Advanced --> Check "Show Develop menu in menu bar". See screen shot attached.

You'll then have a "Develop" menu in your Safari menus. See screen shot attached.

Go to Develop --> User Agent --> Then pick your flavour of IE. (I usually just select the highest version)

The page will refresh, and the site you are visiting will think you're using IE, and very good chance it will work.
Attached Images
File Type: png Screen shot 2012-04-27 at 6.13.40 PM.png (76.6 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg Screen shot 2012-04-27 at 6.13.14 PM.jpg (116.7 KB, 2 views)
__________________
Not a member of ehMac? Click here to join the community for Free!

Visit iCracked.com for Professional iPhone and iPad Repair!
ehMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29th, 2012, 03:06 PM   #8
Full Citizen
 
jimwww's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 113
Send a message via AIM to jimwww
SINC - this worked - it was exactly what i needed to make changes on a website with older software. Thanks guys!
__________________
www.jimwww.com
Mac Pro tower 8 core, 3.0 ghz, 10Gb Ram;
MacBook Pro 2012, i5, duo-core 2.5ghz, 16gb ram, 500gb hd
jimwww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29th, 2012, 04:24 PM   #9
Resident Curmudgeon
 
SINC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Central Alberta
Posts: 68,075
Send a message via AIM to SINC
Glad to hear it worked out for you. I am a bit of a software pack rat. I still have every retail disk for 10.0 through 10.6 in one box. Not sure what I will ever do with them, nor why I keep them. Oh well, at times like this it pays off.
__________________
Visit my website:
St. Albert's Place On The Web
(Over 1.6 million folks have.)
SINC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
download, explorer, internet, mac

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:26 PM.



Copyright 1999 - 2012, ehMac.ca All rights reserved. ehMac is not affiliated with Apple Inc. Mac, iPod, iTunes, iPhone, Apple TV are trademarks of Apple Inc. Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2

Tribe.ca: Urban living in Toronto!