Possible Scam? - ehMac.ca
Facebook
Twitter
YouTube
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 28th, 2007, 11:36 AM   #1
Honourable Citizen
 
MacDaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,948
Send a message via AIM to MacDaddy Send a message via MSN to MacDaddy
Possible Scam?

OK, so I am selling my Wii, and this guy emails me. Looks like it could possibly be a scam, but he wants to pay through PayPal. He is over in the UK so I inform him that it is an NTSC system and he is OK with that. I am still a bit leary, but if it is through PayPal, I should be protected right? I am just trying to think how they could try and scam me with just my email (I have a nice secure PW for PP).

Here is the original email from him. THoughts?

Quote:
I am interested in this item and I want to buy it outrightly. For a quick sale, I will pay you $550.00 and $100.00 to ship it via FEDEX GLOBAL EXPRESS 3-4 DAYS.If my offer is okay with you, Kindly send me your paypal account email address so I can remit payment to you at once for the item. Theitem is going to ship to united kingdom ok so if you accept mail me back.
Thanks
__________________
The Love Muffin | My Flickr

iThink, therefore iMac
You are coming to a sad realization: Cancel or Allow?
Chuck Norris was the one who took a bite out of the Apple Logo.
MacDaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old May 28th, 2007, 11:52 AM   #2
dwp
Full Citizen
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: GTA
Posts: 337
So this guy is going to pay you $650 for something that has a suggested retail price of $249.99 US?

You must be including a whack of games with it!

And a brand new one is available on Craigslist for $360 Cdn.

http://toronto.craigslist.org/ele/339713970.html

Something is terribly wrong with this picture. I don't know what game he's up to, but I'd stay the hell away from it frankly.
dwp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2007, 11:56 AM   #3
Honourable Citizen
 
MacDaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,948
Send a message via AIM to MacDaddy Send a message via MSN to MacDaddy
For what I am including, retail price is around $550 with Tax, but he is over paying for shipping. Thats what I don't understand, I am trying to figure out how he could scam me with that...
__________________
The Love Muffin | My Flickr

iThink, therefore iMac
You are coming to a sad realization: Cancel or Allow?
Chuck Norris was the one who took a bite out of the Apple Logo.
MacDaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2007, 11:56 AM   #4
Full Citizen
 
TrevX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sydney, Nova Scotia
Posts: 968
Send a message via AIM to TrevX Send a message via MSN to TrevX
It does sound too good to be true. However, if he is willing to send you that much in Canadian funds, it works out to roughly half of that in UK pounds since their dollar is much better than ours. Still, it doesn't seem legit. If something is too good to be true...

Trev
__________________
-Macbook Pro 2GHz Core Duo 15.4", 2GB, 100GB, Superdrive, Airport, BT, 256MB ATI x1600
-iPhone 8GB
TrevX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2007, 12:29 PM   #5
dwp
Full Citizen
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: GTA
Posts: 337
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacDaddy View Post
For what I am including, retail price is around $550 with Tax, but he is over paying for shipping. Thats what I don't understand, I am trying to figure out how he could scam me with that...
When people buy used at least in my experience they don't usually compensate you for the tax paid unless it a rare item that is difficult to get. I'm thinking of the prices that were being paid for the Playstation 3 last Christmas or the crazy prices for the Apple iSight camera recently.

Maybe the wii is unavailable at the present time in the UK?

Could be, but I've had so many e-mails from people in the UK wanting to buy whatever I was selling that you'd think nothing was available in England anymore!

I don't know what he could do with your PayPal info but it is suspicious.
dwp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2007, 12:43 PM   #6
Left The Building
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Jasoom
Posts: 8,381
Smells fishy. Walk away.
The Doug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2007, 12:52 PM   #7
Full Citizen
 
Wolfshead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 628
Reads like a scam to me - who writes like that?
Wolfshead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2007, 01:13 PM   #8
Honourable Citizen
 
HowEver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: GTEh
Posts: 15,034
.
__________________
...
For sale:
15.4" MacBook Pro with Retina Display !



Last edited by HowEver; Nov 5th, 2008 at 10:43 PM.
HowEver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2007, 02:01 PM   #9
mguertin
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Paypal offers you NO protection on anything like this. The scam usually runs that they make payment to your paypal account and wait until you ship the item, then they resind the payment once the item is "in the mail". There is no recourse for this scam under the rules of "protection" from Paypal. Paypal and protection are oxymorons.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
M-M-M-Macbook Pro Scam Aero Anything Mac 6 Jul 3rd, 2006 10:55 AM
Scam Alert Scam Alert Scam Alert MasterBlaster Info Centre 17 May 26th, 2006 12:53 PM
another classifieds scam lordchudley! Anything Mac 2 Nov 24th, 2005 11:08 PM
If it looks like a scam and smells like a scam..... macuserforlife Everything Else, eh! 1 Aug 18th, 2005 08:47 PM
I got a (scam?) call from Apple! Bjornbro Anything Mac 19 Apr 3rd, 2005 04:49 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:21 PM.



Copyright © 1999 - 2012, ehMac.ca All rights reserved. ehMac is not affiliated with Apple Inc. Mac, iPod, iTunes, iPhone, Apple TV are trademarks of Apple Inc. Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2

Tribe.ca: Urban living in Toronto!