|
||||
![]() |
![]() |
|
|||||||
![]() |
|
|
Thread Tools | Display Modes |
|
|
#1 |
|
Full Citizen
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 223
|
Hello,
I own a design company and recently received an email from someone who is interested in our services however the whole thing seems strange to me and I am thinking this may be a scam of some sort. Here are the emails we have exchanged ... -------------------------------------------------------------------- Dear Desginer I will like to build a website for a church of 10 pages please i will like you to give the price and the Quotation i will need for the desgin. And i will like to pay through Certificate cheque looking forward to here form you. Regard Smith -------------------------------------------------------------------- Dear Smith, Thank you for contacting Splash Concepts, Your Corporate Image Specialists. We would need to know more information on what you are looking for but as a ballpark, our prices for website development range anywhere from $1000.00USD to $1500.00USD Best Regards, Mark Kurtes Creative Director -------------------------------------------------------------------- Thanks for the mail i am okay with price please i will like you to know that my payment we be by a Certificate cheque and you will be receiving a cheque of $4500 which you deduct the cost of desgin and forward the rest to my client so he can make arrangement for some equipment we need in our church. If this is okay by you please i will like you to kindly reply me with your full name that we be on the cheque, full Address, phone number, zip code. and i will be looking forwrad to here from youn soon. Regard Smith N:B i will prefer ballpark, $1000.00USD -------------------------------------------------------------------- What are your toughts? Why would someone cut a cheque for more? Obviously something is strange here but I am trying to figure out the scam. Cheers! Mark |
|
|
|
|
|
#2 |
|
On Vacation
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 14,050
|
forwarding the 3500$ to "his client" is the scam
he's using you to clear his cheque and/or it's dirty money "If it's too good to be true, it probably is." |
|
|
|
|
|
#3 |
|
Full Citizen
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Over Here
Posts: 915
|
Run away from this guy. Scam.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#4 |
|
Full Citizen
|
Scam - & his "certificate cheque" will be bogus - you will be out the $ of your own that you forward to his "church"
__________________
PBTi G4-667; iMacDV G3-400 Mainline Graphics & Communications ~ graphic design, business support services ~ Computer Tutoring: obedience training for you & your computer (Mac/PC) |
|
|
|
|
|
#5 |
|
Full Citizen
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Woodstock
Posts: 359
|
Most definitely a scam...
If life were like that, you wouldn't need MasterCard. ;-) This is just a variation of the scam wher someone (usually in Nigeria) needs help settling someone's estate and promises you easy money. My favourite is the "Big Lotto Win Scam". You know the one where you're informed that you won the grand prize in a lotto that you never even entered. To claim your prize you have to send cash first. It didn't originate in Nigeria did it? |
|
|
|
|
|
#6 |
|
Honourable Citizen
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: GTEh
Posts: 14,324
|
.
Last edited by HowEver; Nov 10th, 2008 at 09:02 AM. |
|
|
|
|
|
#7 |
|
Full Citizen
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Toronto
Posts: 837
|
419eater.com
|
|
|
|
|
|
#8 |
|
Honourable Citizen
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ottawa (where Torontonians go to watch NHL-calibre hockey, but where Montrealers go to get sleep)
Posts: 3,134
|
I don't get it.
Me not smrt.
Can anyone post a few more details of this scam? I can't figure out how Y cutting a cheque to X, for services not rendered, will cost X money. Or how Y would make money in this arrangement. Do it for the kids!
__________________
. "It is fatal to let any dog know that he is funny, for he immediately loses his head and starts hamming it up." - Sir Pelham Grenville Wodehouse (P.G. Wodehouse) |
|
|
|
|
|
#9 |
|
Full Citizen
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 223
|
Thanks for all the replies, I wanted to see what everyone else thought. He has a Yahoo account and his email address is:
superkingdom01@yahoo.com Cheers! Mark |
|
|
|
|
|
#10 | ||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
Full Citizen
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: toronto
Posts: 696
|
scammers arrested |
||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Attn: Job Seekers: Altig International is a scam | Pylonman | Everything Else, eh! | 23 | Apr 27th, 2006 05:47 PM |
| another classifieds scam | lordchudley! | Anything Mac | 2 | Nov 24th, 2005 11:08 PM |
| What kind of RAM for Beige G3? | skytrain | Mac & iPod Help & Troubleshooting | 2 | Sep 3rd, 2005 12:21 PM |
| If it looks like a scam and smells like a scam..... | macuserforlife | Everything Else, eh! | 1 | Aug 18th, 2005 08:47 PM |
| Hmm...Could be a great deal (PowerMac for cheap?) SCAM | CN | Anything Mac | 22 | Jul 18th, 2005 10:21 PM |