ehMac.ca

ehMac.ca (http://www.ehmac.ca/)
-   Anything Mac (http://www.ehmac.ca/anything-mac/)
-   -   Apple Releases OS X Mountain Lion Developer Preview (http://www.ehmac.ca/anything-mac/99309-apple-releases-os-x-mountain-lion-developer-preview.html)

broad Feb 16th, 2012 08:45 AM

Apple Releases OS X Mountain Lion Developer Preview
 
Apple OS X Mountain Lion (10.8) in-depth preview -- Engadget

What the heck?

wonderings Feb 16th, 2012 08:48 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by broad (Post 1169777)

I was just thinking that when reading about it on CNET. Did not see anything on Apples website, nor read about it here.

With Mountain Lion, Apple brings iOS and OS X a big step closer | The Download Blog - Download.com

Looks like some nice features added.

broad Feb 16th, 2012 08:55 AM

The Engadget article was published less than 30 min ago.

Edit:brainfart the iPhone leak was gizmodo not Engadget

John Clay Feb 16th, 2012 09:00 AM

It's not a leak. It's an official announcement, with developer betas starting today. There's a public Messages beta available today.

Apple - Mac OS X - Download the free Messages Beta.

Looks like more iOSification, unfortunately. Only good thing I can see is notification centre.

broad Feb 16th, 2012 09:02 AM

Well that explains a lot.

groovetube Feb 16th, 2012 09:10 AM

Quote:

Notifications might be our favorite addition in Mountain Lion.
How about making an OS that doesn't hang, beachballs, etc when you're actually trying to use it for production.

okcomputer Feb 16th, 2012 09:14 AM

Well, here comes the flood of 'iOS will ruin OSX' comments... Lol.

I'm liking the new features. Been wanting Messages on my MBP. The AirPlay mirroring is awesome and makes the just-released AirParrot app unnecessary. Notifications look good and might replace Growl for me. Reminders will get more use now.

andreww Feb 16th, 2012 09:15 AM

Meh, updates for social networking, gaming and surfing, but nothing for those of us that make a living with our macs.

Joker Eh Feb 16th, 2012 09:15 AM

I like Notifications, Messages, and Airplay Mirroring. I still don't see why Reminders is set apart from Calendars. Made no sense in iOS and makes no sense still. Game Center is a waste because users have manipulated the scores on it since the beginning, so to me it is worthless. The only good thing is the ability to play against friends.

This will give me a reason to hold out on a new MBP or iMac and wait for its release.

 Dumpling Feb 16th, 2012 09:16 AM

iMessage for Mac Beta is available too:
Apple - Mac OS X - Download the free Messages Beta.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:41 AM.


Copyright 1999 - 2012, ehMac.ca All rights reserved. ehMac is not affiliated with Apple Inc. Mac, iPod, iTunes, iPhone, Apple TV are trademarks of Apple Inc.


Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2