ehMac.ca

ehMac.ca (http://www.ehmac.ca/)
-   Anything Mac (http://www.ehmac.ca/anything-mac/)
-   -   Apple Releases OS X Mountain Lion Developer Preview (http://www.ehmac.ca/anything-mac/99309-apple-releases-os-x-mountain-lion-developer-preview.html)

 Dumpling Feb 16th, 2012 12:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Joker Eh (Post 1169797)
Is that safe to download the beat on to a production machine?

I am running it without issue for the past hour (Messages beta). Really love it. The thing I find funny about the new features in Mountain Lion is that it may actually cannibalize the iPad. The more you can do with a Mac that is familiar to people who run iOS, the more likely they are to migrate to something like a MacBook Air at a higher rate. Lion's gesture driven UI and swiping between full screen apps made a MacBook Air much more tempting to me than an iPad. Just happy to see the Mac getting attention from Apple and sending a clear message that it is a priority to them. I also love the fact that we got a surprise without all the usual leaks and rumours. :clap:

Andrew Pratt Feb 16th, 2012 12:24 PM

My comment on the iPhone vs MacOS was just that Apple seems to be in a pattern of releasing a new product one year and then a minor update the following year. It makes sense and gives Apple a two year update cycle while keeping its product fresh during the bump years.

biovizier Feb 16th, 2012 01:23 PM

I figured this was coming since it is already in effect with apps bundled with new Macs:
Software Update to Move Inside Mac App Store in OS X Mountain Lion - Mac Rumors

Now that it's going to apply to the operating system as a whole, well, that's it. I'm done.

Andrew Pratt Feb 16th, 2012 01:28 PM

That actually makes a lot of sense.

CubaMark Feb 16th, 2012 01:46 PM

Those with multiple Apple IDs may find setting up Messages a little challenging. I had to rotate through a few combinations of username /password before it finally managed to start up. Installation otherwise was smooth. Note that a restart is required. It also deletes iChat from your /Applications/ folder. I assume, but can't confirm, that the "Uninstall Messages Beta" item under the File menu should reinstall iChat.

CubaMark Feb 16th, 2012 01:50 PM

The latest developments in OS X development are also making me think I shouldn't be waiting until the last minute to deal with my iCloud migration... I just have so many darn websites hosted within MobileMe that it's going to be a bit of a headache (not to mention an expense to buy new hosting...).

Andrew Pratt Feb 16th, 2012 02:37 PM

Seems several apps are now named the same as in iOS...iCal and Address Book for starters. They also dropped the Mac name in the OS so it is now officially OS X not Mac OS X...interesting. Maybe 11 will be written as XiOS.

Joker Eh Feb 16th, 2012 02:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Andrew Pratt (Post 1169901)
Seems several apps are now named the same as in iOS...iCal and Address Book for starters. They also dropped the Mac name in the OS so it is now officially OS X not Mac OS X...interesting. Maybe 11 will be written as XiOS.

the name "Mac" will now refer to hardware only. I think that is where they are going with the removal.

broad Feb 16th, 2012 03:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by biovizier (Post 1169876)
I figured this was coming since it is already in effect with apps bundled with new Macs:
Software Update to Move Inside Mac App Store in OS X Mountain Lion - Mac Rumors

Now that it's going to apply to the operating system as a whole, well, that's it. I'm done.

lol everything questionable thats going on with the mac os lately and this is the thing that breaks the camels back for you?? software update????

:lmao::lmao:

Joker Eh Feb 16th, 2012 03:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by biovizier (Post 1169876)
I figured this was coming since it is already in effect with apps bundled with new Macs:
Software Update to Move Inside Mac App Store in OS X Mountain Lion - Mac Rumors

Now that it's going to apply to the operating system as a whole, well, that's it. I'm done.

Software Update??? Sorry just don't understand how Software Update is what does it for you.

I think you were joking right? ;)


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:32 PM.


Copyright 1999 - 2012, ehMac.ca All rights reserved. ehMac is not affiliated with Apple Inc. Mac, iPod, iTunes, iPhone, Apple TV are trademarks of Apple Inc.


Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2