win-x-defender. - ehMac.ca
Facebook
Twitter
YouTube
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 26th, 2008, 08:53 PM   #1
Full Citizen
 
Sitting Bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 850
win-x-defender.

I was visiting warner brothers web site yesterday and I got a pop up with the safari compass and it said HTPP://scanner2.defender-scan.com
Your computer has been running slower than normal, it may be infected with viruses, adware or spyware. win-x-defender will perform a quick search. completely free scan.. I closed it and got off the site.
Should I be concerned?
Thanks S.b.
Sitting Bull is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old May 26th, 2008, 09:09 PM   #2
Full Citizen
 
harzack86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 740
Send a message via AIM to harzack86
No. This is most likely just a pop up spam. One thing you could do though is to make sure your browser blocks pop up windows like these.
For Safari for instance, this option is available right in the "Safari" menu, or by hitting ⇧⌘K
__________________
Macbook Pro 15" (2011) Unibody
iPhone 4 - iPad 2 Wifi
harzack86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2008, 09:19 PM   #3
Honourable Citizen
 
EvanPitts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Hamilton, ON
Posts: 6,430
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sitting Bull View Post
I was visiting warner brothers web site yesterday and I got a pop up with the safari compass and it said HTPP://scanner2.defender-scan.com
Your computer has been running slower than normal, it may be infected with viruses, adware or spyware. win-x-defender will perform a quick search. completely free scan.. I closed it and got off the site.
Should I be concerned?
If it downloaded anything, it will most likely be some kind of Windoze malarkey. just make sure that if you come across any "suspicious" files in your Downloads folder that you delete them. There have been some spurious .app files, perhaps malware or something, that are targetting OSX systems.

Also, if you got that - you are not at the legitimate Warner Brother's site, but rather some kind of "look alike" site, perhaps based off shore somewhere. I would be sure to Google to see what the actual address for Warner Brothers is, because a very real flaw in Unicode is that one can fiddle with the characters, so that the address may look like Warner Brothers, but it is actually something in cyrillic that lands you on a server in Tajikistan or somewhere. They will try to "hook" you into doing something, so they can use your information for criminal activities.

So you do not have to be paranoid about such things with a Mac, just be cautious and make sure that, if you doubt the characters that an address is formed with, to simply type them in yourself to make sure you go to the real site. The other thing I do is, with FireFox run the add-on called FlagFox. Warner Brothers should be American - so the little Stars and Stripes will give you piece of mind. If the flag looks like some kind of rehash of communism, or something else crazy that you don't recognize - then that should send a simple warning. This stuff is happening more and more.

If you have FireFox, you should also consider the AdBlock add-on (as well as FlashBlock) to make surfing more enjoyable. I think PithHelmet is an equivalent for Safari, but I am not sure.
EvanPitts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2008, 09:28 PM   #4
Honourable Citizen
 
chas_m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Victoria BC
Posts: 11,781
Send a message via AIM to chas_m
Quote:
Originally Posted by EvanPitts View Post
If you have FireFox, you should also consider the AdBlock add-on (as well as FlashBlock) to make surfing more enjoyable. I think PithHelmet is an equivalent for Safari, but I am not sure.
No, the equivalent for Safari is Safariblock, which does both regular blocking AND Flash blocking.
chas_m is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First builds of Apple's Mac OS X 10.5.2 Leopard Update due shortly Ottawaman Anything Mac 3 Dec 18th, 2007 10:05 PM
When OS X sfw. isn't OS X sfw. MACSPECTRUM Everything Else, eh! 22 Jan 21st, 2006 10:24 PM
OS X Server Experiences? How difficult is it to admin? jdurston Anything Mac 1 Oct 26th, 2005 01:26 PM
Mac G4 867 + OS X = LC III MacAndy Mac, iPhone, iPad and iPod Help & Troubleshooting 5 Apr 14th, 2005 11:53 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:42 PM.



Copyright © 1999 - 2012, ehMac.ca All rights reserved. ehMac is not affiliated with Apple Inc. Mac, iPod, iTunes, iPhone, Apple TV are trademarks of Apple Inc. Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2

Tribe.ca: Urban living in Toronto!