www.ehmac.ca

 


Join ehMac.ca today by clicking here. Registration is FREE. Post in forums, view photos, fewer ads!


  
Go Back   ehMac.ca > ehMac: Canada's Mac Community! > Anything Mac

beware of paysafe scam!! working in UK my arse

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Mar 20th, 2007, 07:05 PM   #1
Honourable Citizen
 
keebler27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,283
beware of paysafe scam!! working in UK my arse

Hi,

firstly, nope...i haven't been scammed..nor i am one of these low life pieces of scammer crap.

BUT, i've seen this a number of times recently when scouring for used macs (not on this site however, which is great). craigslist and kijjiiiaia or however you spell that

The ad is for a used G5 dual 2.x whatever (i have seen a mac pro once too)...it varies + a 20" or 23" apple display for $2000. if you email and they respond with something like:

"Hi,
The system is in perfect cosmetic and working condition without any scratches or dead pixels on the monitor, there are 2 years Apple Care warranty left on it. The price I will sell it for is $2,000.00, which is including all the shipping charges.
I live in Ottawa but currently I am with work in United Kingdom ( London ) for the next approximately 5 months. Anyway, there shouldn't be any problem, because I am using PaySafe services so I can sell the system without difficulty.
I left the system in their custody before leaving overseas. They will take care of the delivery. There's a 10 days return policy included so you will have the chance to inspect it before final decision.
So if you want to purchase it, let me know and I will explain you how PaySafe works and how we can move forward.
I am waiting your email.
Thanks"

DO NOT DO IT. It's a scam! Paysafe is no where to be found...anywhere.

total scam.

i'm posting this as education so maybe if we all recognize it and respond accordingly, these wankers will stop (but i know they'll try something different).

Cheers,
Keebler
keebler27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20th, 2007, 07:22 PM   #2
Full Citizen
 
7gabriel5elpher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: K/W
Posts: 746
Quote:
Originally Posted by keebler27
..nor i am one of these low life pieces of scammer crap.
LMAO I couldnt agree with you more calling them that! If I ever get my hands on the guy who scammed me out of $500 I'm gonna smash his hands so he cant scam anyone else... online anyways!
__________________
---Gabriel---
MacBook Pro 17" 2.5Ghz Matte Hi-Def Screen.
.500GB Seagate Momentus XT Hybrid.4GB RAM.
TeraBytes of storage...

Macintosh Technician 10.6 Certified.
Support Professional 10.6 Certified.
Apple Certified Technical Coordinator 10.5
---Carpe Diem---
7gabriel5elpher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20th, 2007, 07:26 PM   #3
Honourable Citizen
 
MacDoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Planet Earth.....on slow boil
Posts: 28,080
Yeah there was one like it on craigslist I reported. $480 brand new Powerbook.
same language, different escrow name.
__________________
Are you backed up??? if not why not? - Superduper is FREE!!
Find out more here
Support Green- buy Bullfrog Power http://www.bullfrogpower.com/
MacDoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20th, 2007, 09:33 PM   #4
Honourable Citizen
 
HowEver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: GTEh
Posts: 14,324
My mantra... and payback's a bitch.

http://www.zug.com/pranks/powerbook/ (used to be www.p-p-p-powerbook.com but that site eats bandwidth)

www.419eater.com

www.thescambaiter.com


...
__________________
...

HowEver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20th, 2007, 09:35 PM   #5
Honourable Citizen
 
Macaholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Toronto
Posts: 8,754
I've seen this precise ad elsewhere a few times over the years. Nice to see that they updated the system to a G5 from the dual G4 Powermac they used to flog
__________________

32GB iPad WiFi. 15" MacBook Pro 2.4GHz Core2 Duo/6GB/200GB/GeForce 8600M GT 256MB GPU/DL-DVDRW/24" BenQ LCD. MacBook 2.4GHz Core2 Duo/2GB/200GB/DL-DVDRW >3TB of FW drives, 16GB iPod Touch, 8GB 5th gen Nano, Canon HV20 HD-DV cam, Kodak digicam, Canon scanner, Canon iP5400 printer, Jailbroken 8GB iPhone 3G. In memoriam: my Sawtooth "Frankenmac" with dual 1.3GHz G4/2GB/360GB striped RAID/DVDRW/ATI Radeon 9000 Pro
Macaholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20th, 2007, 10:44 PM   #6
Full Citizen
 
7gabriel5elpher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: K/W
Posts: 746
OMG HowEver.... I read that Powerbook scam! My response.... LMFAO until I cant breath! I love it when the bad guy's get what is coming to them! My hope is that someday the guy who fried me out of $500 will be fried out of triple that! Thanks for the link...
__________________
---Gabriel---
MacBook Pro 17" 2.5Ghz Matte Hi-Def Screen.
.500GB Seagate Momentus XT Hybrid.4GB RAM.
TeraBytes of storage...

Macintosh Technician 10.6 Certified.
Support Professional 10.6 Certified.
Apple Certified Technical Coordinator 10.5
---Carpe Diem---
7gabriel5elpher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21st, 2007, 07:47 AM   #7
Full Citizen
 
bmovie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Toronto
Posts: 838
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacDoc
Yeah there was one like it on craigslist I reported. $480 brand new Powerbook.
same language, different escrow name.
Both my friend and I at work got the the same reply when we answered this ad in craigslist...how can you pass up a macbook core 2 duo for $400?

You have to answer the ad and know that it's a scam.

You have to ignore or flag these when you see them
__________________
When Hell is full, the dead will walk the earth.
bmovie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21st, 2007, 12:13 PM   #8
Honourable Citizen
 
CanadaRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Victoria BC
Posts: 3,155
report to info@phonebusters.com and to the ISP of the mail account that sent the fraud.
CanadaRAM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21st, 2007, 12:33 PM   #9
Full Citizen
 
ZRXer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 166
That Powerbook prank is priceless. Excellent dedication to the cause. I'd pay to see something like that play out.

I stupidly fell for a scam eBay email and clicked the link and changed my password on the site, but stopped when it came to entering banking/credit card information. I went straight to eBay after that and cancelled the account. Nothing seemed to come out of it, but I've never trusted much in the way of emails offering good things since then...
__________________
20" iMac 2.16 C2D
14" iBook 1.25 G4
8 GB iPhone 3G, 500 GB Time Capsule
Airport Express, 40 GB AppleTV
Too many iPods
Kawasaki ZRX1200R and too many Audis
Apple stores: Edmonton, Fashion Valley Mall San Diego, University Towne Center San Diego, Ala Moana Shopping Centre Honolulu, Kalakaua Avenue Honolulu, Kahala Mall Honolulu, Calgary Market Mall
ZRXer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21st, 2007, 12:34 PM   #10
Honourable Citizen
 
keebler27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,283
thanks CR. I was looking for a site where i could send the info.

unfortunately, i deleted the emails. i checked my sent items and my emails are there, but the internet headers are not there anymore i'll still send the email addys...that might help, but i doubt it. maybe the mounties can force yahoo to pony up whomever registered the accounts.

btw, on a different note, i forward your website to my uncle. he's looking for ram. i'll be buying ram when i buy a mac pro, if they're released in april
keebler27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
If it looks like a scam and smells like a scam..... macuserforlife Everything Else, eh! 1 Aug 18th, 2005 08:47 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:38 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2010, ehMac.ca All rights reserved. ehMac is not affiliated with Apple Inc. Mac, iPod, iTunes, iPhone, Apple TV are trademarks of Apple Inc. Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

Tribe.ca: Urban living in Toronto!