|
||||
![]() |
![]() |
|
|||||||
![]() |
|
|
Thread Tools | Display Modes |
|
|
#1 |
|
Honourable Citizen
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 1,713
|
Hmm...Could be a great deal (PowerMac for cheap?) SCAM
As I was trying to sell my grandparent's G5 Dual 2ghz (I'm sure many of you saw the ad etc.- its now sold though) I was looking for similar systems, to see what a good asking price would be. In my search, I stumbled across this ad (I lost the link, but printed it out, so here's all the info, its from some sort of a classified ad in Toronto):
"Macintosh G5 Dual, 2ghz, $1500, all original documents, 1-800-881-8709" If this is not a scam, then its an absolutely phenomenal deal. Just thought I would let the community know, in case anyone is interested. Buyer beware though, this is almost too good to be true. Do your homework before buying and be careful! I am in no way endorsing this ad as being true etc. for all I know, it could be a scam. But it could also potentially be a good deal.
__________________
When my fist clenches, crack it open... Last edited by CN; Jul 8th, 2005 at 04:53 PM. |
|
|
|
|
|
#2 |
|
Honourable Citizen
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 1,713
|
I got curious, so I phoned about the computer. Turns out its some sort of a company selling it (apparently they are switching to PCs) called Tridel Morguard. He said its 2 months old, and in perfect condition. They are located in Toronto. Seems too good to be true (think about the retail on one of those babies...they're gonna lose alot of money). I would suggest checking it out in person, and only doing the deal in person. Its a bit fishy.
__________________
When my fist clenches, crack it open... |
|
|
|
|
|
#3 |
|
Full Citizen
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 656
|
i'm sure they got a kickass deal since they are a business...
eww switch to pc's eh? lol... wish i had 1500 and a car. wonder if they have anyother computers...hmm... |
|
|
|
|
|
#4 |
|
Honourable Citizen
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Planet Earth.....on slow boil
Posts: 28,080
|
It's scam and should be reported
There is no such company as Tridel Morguard in Mississauga or anywhere. Where did you come across this. I spoke and offered to come and pick it up with cash and he dodged and ducked. STAY AWAY.
__________________
Find out more here Support Green- buy Bullfrog Power http://www.bullfrogpower.com/ |
|
|
|
|
|
#5 |
|
Honourable Citizen
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 1,713
|
Whoa, thanks for checking that out MacDoc! If I was in the market to buy a Powermac, I would have been very easily scammed by something like this (1-800 number and all...). Luckily, I am not (that would be a big loss).
Wow, just did a search to see what else they're doing under that phone number: In the Houston chronicle (Wow, advertising in the US now) (this time its a 45" Sharp Aquos) Here Canada.com classifieds (the G5 and a 45" Sharp Aquos too) Here Found the ad in The Ottawa Citizen as well. These guys are all over the place. Canada411.com has no record of anything under that number, no business named that either. Nothing in the Better Business Bureau. How do you report this sort of thing? Police?
__________________
When my fist clenches, crack it open... |
|
|
|
|
|
#6 |
|
Full Citizen
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 469
|
lt's sad how people try to scam others nowadays. Don't they know that the chances of getting away with a scam is very small...
Yeah, $1,500.00 Cdn sounds too good to be true. Especially considering these machines retail for $2,500.00 Cdn new. Then again maybe this person doesn't have concept of second hand value. If I sell anything I actually go to eBay or check out the local buy and sell ads to compare the prices to see what is fair value for said object. Good thing MacDoc came to the rescue! It's a bird. It's a plane! No it's MacDoc!MacDoc up, up and away! Sorry, I am bored and on that note I am heading off.
__________________
Are you regular? If not, buy a Apple. |
|
|
|
|
|
#7 |
|
Honourable Citizen
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Planet Earth.....on slow boil
Posts: 28,080
|
Made me laugh E26....
![]() I was pissed at the guy on the phone tho..... ![]() You know I don't know but it's unlikely police will get involved even if you are defrauded - better to alert the sites. It actually sounded US on the phone and I suspect they look at your area code as you phone in and say they are from your area to get you more excited.
__________________
Find out more here Support Green- buy Bullfrog Power http://www.bullfrogpower.com/ |
|
|
|
|
|
#8 | ||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
Honourable Citizen
|
A guy I used to work with tried to rob the place after he was fired, though he did get caught, he only had to write an apology letter. As somebody who used to hang with the wrong crowd, I know your chances of getting busted are pretty slim unless you are incredibly stupid about it! It's a sad state of affairs, but oh so true.
__________________
Mister Chupa and Friends | The Love Muffin | My Flickr iThink, therefore iMac You are coming to a sad realization: Cancel or Allow? Chuck Norris was the one who took a bite out of the Apple Logo. |
||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|
#9 |
|
Full Citizen
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 469
|
Well thanks for that bit of information. I was TRYING to live in this delusional perfect society I made for myself. But now that's all come crashing down!
But isn't there a way to follow up on a scam like this one? Heck, the Police could even get a hold of this guy if MacDoc was able to.
__________________
Are you regular? If not, buy a Apple. |
|
|
|
|
|
#10 |
|
Honourable Citizen
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: GTEh
Posts: 14,324
|
|
|
|
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Great iBook G4 deal: sub $1000 | Ohenri | Anything Mac | 10 | Oct 28th, 2004 12:06 PM |
| I think I got a great deal, what do you think? | mkurtes | Anything Mac | 6 | Oct 30th, 2003 09:23 PM |