www.ehmac.ca

 


Join ehMac.ca today by clicking here. Registration is FREE. Post in forums, view photos, fewer ads!


  
Go Back   ehMac.ca > ehMac: Canada's Mac Community! > Anything Mac

Software from Buys U.S.A

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Mar 25th, 2005, 09:41 AM   #1
New Neighbour
 
Craig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Burlington, Ontario
Posts: 12
Cool Software from Buys U.S.A



Hello All,

I was just wondering if anyone has purchased software from these people? Their link is at the top of the main page of this site, and out of curiosity, I clicked on it. They have awesome prices, and I read through their FAQ's. I do realize that the software you buy from them is CD's only, no manuals and no tech support.

I am looking for a copy of Dreamweaver MX 2004, and they have it bundled up for $99. That is a great deal, considering the retail price is $399. However I don't want to be giving my credit card number to just anyone. So if anyone has used these people, or has any feedback on them, could you please let me know?

Thanks,

Craig

MAC Rules
Craig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25th, 2005, 10:05 AM   #2
Honourable Citizen
 
darkscot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NCR
Posts: 1,682
not always at the top of the page, Craig. Do you have a link for us?

And no, never bought from them before
__________________
I hate scrolling
darkscot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25th, 2005, 10:31 AM   #3
New Neighbour
 
Craig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Burlington, Ontario
Posts: 12
oops...good point..;-)

http://www.buysusa.com/

Thanks,
Craig
Craig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25th, 2005, 10:54 AM   #4
catching up with my pile
 
simon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 1,922
Scam ... scam ... SCAM!

I only went throught the first page and a few things jumped right out (like the chessy graphics, spelling errors, and sloppy HTML) so I decided to browse the rest ... and low-and-behold if you actually read the terms of service, besides the gobbly-gook of becoming a reseller of the software (huh?), it states in term 7a ...

------------------

Buysusa reserves the right to refuse any customer for any reason. You understand that in order for Buysusa to make you a copy (OEM) of any software, you acknowledge that you are the legal owner of this same software, and are looking to just make a new copy (OEM) for archival (backup) purposes only. You also agree to destroy all copies of the software in the event it is ever no longer voluntarily in your possession. You understand that only the licensed owner (with a valid serial number, where applicable) of the various software found on Buysusa may use the services located here. You also acknowledge that the software you have was obtained legally and that you have the legal right to request this backup (oem) copy to be made. If you obtained your version though any other means, including any pirated versions, or if you do not already legally own the same version of the software requested, then you may not use this service. you also agree to hold Buysusa harmless for any damages that may occur for your failure to follow the U.S. Copyright and other laws as they pertain to the backup (OEM software) you are requesting. When you purchase any backup (oem) copy of software through Buysusa, you agree to assume full liability in the event your actions are deemed illegal. Buysusa does not condone software piracy and has every intention of complying with the laws pertaining to the duplication of software. By placing an order for software, you declare and warrant that you are provided all material on an "AS IS" basis, and Buysusa makes no representation or warranties of any kind. All title and intellectual property rights remain those of the respective content owner and any intellectual property protected by laws and treaties, without grant or rights to use, and not to copy or print. Any such documentation, serial number, activation services or material that is accompanying any software or document is provided by Buysusa only as documentation or to ease installation in the event your originals are lost, with no basis of value. The laws of the State of Florida will govern this agreement.

--------------------

So basically you will be buying a "copy" - paying them $50 to make a copy of software that you already own ... or in realistic terms you are buying pirated software.
__________________
-----------------------------------------

the crap is still piling up ...

Computer: MacPro, MacBook Pro, PowerMac G5, iMac, eMac and 3Gs iPhone.
Camera: Canon 5DII with 17-40L, 24-105L ƒ/4IS, 70-200L ƒ/2.8IS, 100-400L IS, 580EXII
Camera 2: Canon 40D with 15-85 IS and Sigma 30 ƒ/1.4!!
simon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25th, 2005, 11:21 AM   #5
New Neighbour
 
Craig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Burlington, Ontario
Posts: 12
Hey Simon,

I just finished reading all of it as well. It looks that way to me too.

Thanks for the info...I won't be buying anything from these people.

Take care,

Craig
Craig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13th, 2005, 11:17 AM   #6
New Neighbour
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1
simon & craig,

i am glad i found this post on the forum.
i was amazed by the prices too, thought it was old or overstock from somewhere.
but just to see i clicked on the buy button and got a warning about their certificate. Which clued me in something was weird.

Thanks for the info. They won't be seeing my money.
ibeentired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13th, 2005, 07:32 PM   #7
Full Citizen
 
enaj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 429
When you click on buy, a window pops up and states:

Safari can't verify the identity of the website "www.buyusa.com"
The certificate for this website was signed by an unknown certifying authority. You might be connecting to a website that is pretending to be “www.buysusa.com” which could put your confidential information at risk. Would you like to connect to the website anyway?
__________________
Education is when you read the fine print. Experience is what you get if you don't.
--- Pete Seeger
enaj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13th, 2005, 07:33 PM   #8
Full Citizen
 
enaj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 429
Oh, not that I am suspicious, but it seems odd that a new member asked a question getting people to go to this link for great deals. Hmmmm.
Or, maybe I'm too paranoid!!!

If not, welcome to ehmac!
__________________
Education is when you read the fine print. Experience is what you get if you don't.
--- Pete Seeger
enaj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13th, 2005, 07:46 PM   #9
Full Citizen
 
Howard2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 720
So really they're charging you $99 to ship you a backup CD for software that you already own...

Sounds like a bargain to me!
Howard2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13th, 2005, 09:56 PM   #10
Honourable Citizen
 
gmark2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,688
Send a message via AIM to gmark2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig
I was just wondering if anyone has purchased software from these people? Their link is at the top of the main page of this site, and out of curiosity, I clicked on it.
That's why we should allow more Canadian resellers and retailers to advertise on ehMac. Google ads are often dubious. Not sure how much ehMac earns from that click-thru but IMHO it'd be less than having more advertisers allowed here.
__________________
Gary
PMG5 Dual 2.5 • G5 iMac 20 • AlBook 17HD • BlackBook Core Duo • iPhone 3G • 2G 20Gb iPod • 60Gb iPod photo • 3G 4Gb Nano • 4x G3 iMacs • PM6100/60
(why am I keeping this?)
Original Apple eWorld member • Apple user since 1982 • Yorkdale t-shirt #3! • Eaton Centre #7 • Sherway Gardens #5 • Pacific Centre • Fairview #5
Got any OS9 educational/kids' software?
gmark2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it legal to resell software you have bought? nxnw Anything Mac 32 Jan 17th, 2006 10:19 AM
No Mac Software at Apple Stores? guytoronto Anything Mac 6 Aug 2nd, 2005 01:38 PM
Support for Macintel growing MannyP Design Anything Mac 28 Jun 11th, 2005 11:28 AM
OEM Software. Illegal or Legal? And why is it so cheap? Ryankop Anything Mac 16 May 16th, 2005 08:51 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:32 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 - 2010, ehMac.ca All rights reserved. ehMac is not affiliated with Apple Inc. Mac, iPod, iTunes, iPhone, Apple TV are trademarks of Apple Inc. Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

Tribe.ca: Urban living in Toronto!